A total of 81 boats turned up for last weekend's Medway Dinghy regatta

The SeaBritain 2005 Medway Dinghy Regatta, held over the weekend 2-3 July, attracted an excellent entry of 81 boats, including 32 visitors, the biggest entry for several years. The event was hosted and organised by Wilsonian Sailing Club on behalf of the Medway Yachting Association and sponsored by Laser UK.

The weekend proved to be highly successful, if bar takings were any indication, while the light to moderate breeze with frequent wind shifts and strong ebb tide provided competitive conditions for the contestants in the four races (three to count).

International Canoe aces Mark Goodchild and Simon Allen, dominated the fast handicap event. Though in race one, Bernard Shapley (Contender) spoiled their campaign by winning on corrected time with Goodchild second and Allen third. After that hiccup Goodchild made sure of victory with two firsts and a second, while Allen secured runners-up spot with a first and two seconds. The tie for third spot was broken in Shapley favour with Stuart Bailey/Hannah Packman (Buzz) fourth. David/Stuart Mason (Laser 4000) picked up firth prize and also the prize for first Laser, with Tim Kift/Paul Heather (Osprey) sixth.

There was a close contest between Tony Hunt/David Bourne (Laser 3000), Neil Lamprell (Phantom) and Ian Foxwell (Blaze) for the medium handicap title. Foxwell was leading at the halfway stage but a first for Hunt/Bourne was sufficient for them to retain the Quintet Trophy, a couple of thirds for Lamprell secured second, while Foxwell was relegated to third overall after a disappointing pair of sixes. Russ Hall (Blaze) won the tie with Malcolm Levey (Phantom) for fourth and fifth places with Roy Winnett/Susan Raiser (Laser 2000) awarded sixth prize.

David and Sandra Wilson, as in past years, dominated the slow handicap event winning all four races to hold onto the Medway Regatta Trophy. Three Toppers were in the frame for runners-up spot but Jonathan Hewitt held off the challenge from Kerry Hall (third) and Daniel Redrupp (fourth).

The annual contest between the Wayfarers of Richard Stone/Catherine Gore and Brian Lamb/Mike Smith ended as usual with Stone/Gore walking off with the Matkin Trophy with three firsts and Lamb/Smith second on aggregate. While Roger Gibbs/Nick Stewart chipped in with one win to secure third prize.

David and Jackie Hudson made certain of victory in the Miracle fleet to lift the Mirror Magnum Trophy by winning the first three races. While a win by Peter Horner/David Brooker in the final race ensured second prize with Colin/Martin Lown having to settle for third.

Overall Results

Fast handicap

1st Int. Canoe, Mark Goodchild (Medway YC) 4pts

2nd Int. Canoe, Simon Allen (Hayling Island SC) 5pts

3rd Contender, Bernard Shapley (King George SC) 11pts

4th Buzz, Stuart Bailey/Hannah Packman (Medway YC) 11pts

5th Laser 4000, David/Stuart Mason (Wilsonian SC) 13 pts

6th Osprey, Tim Kift/Paul Heather (Wilsonian SC) 17pts

Medium Handicap

1st Laser 3000, Tony Hunt/David Bourne (Wilsonian SC) 6pts
2nd Phantom, Neil Lamprell (Wilsonian SC) 7pts

3rd Blaze, Ian Foxwell (Wilsonian SC) 9pts

4th Blaze, Russ Hall (Broxbourne SC) 12pts

5th Phantom, Malcolm Levey (Wilsonian SC) 12pts

6th Laser 2000, Roy Winnett/Susan Raiser (Wilsonian SC) 22pts

Slow Handicap

1st Graduate, David/Sandra Wilson (Broadwater SC) 3pts

2nd Topper, Jonathan Hewitt (Medway YC) 7pts 3rd Topper, Kerry Hall (Broxbourne SC) 9pts

1st Richard Stone/Catherine Gore (Medway YC) 3pts

2nd Brian Lamb/Mike Smith (Wilsonian SC) 6pts

3rd Roger Gibbs/Nick Stewart (Medway YC) 8pts


1st David/Jackie Hudson (Wilsonian SC) 3pts

2nd Peter Horner/David Brooker (Wilsonian SC) 6pts

3rd Colin/Martin Lown (Wilsonian SC) 8pts