The Flying 15 national championship will be held at Abersoch from 18-23 July and hosted by the South Caernarvonshire Yacht Club

The Flying 15 national championship will be held at Abersoch from 18-23 July and hosted by the South Caernarvonshire Yacht Club.

As this year is a qualifying event for the world championships in Auckland in 2005 a highly competitive entry is expected. There will be a separate concurrent event for the Classic Fleet – those boats with sail numbers lower than 2700 and which are at least 20 years old.

The championship consists of nine races and racing is scheduled to start at 1100 each day. Steve Goacher and Phil Evans will be there to defend their title hoping to win for the fourth consecutive year. They will be facing strong competition particularly from Charles Apthorp, winner of this year’s inaugural European championship, and Brett and Ben Dingwall, winners of the recent inland championship.

The first race is scheduled for Sunday 18 July. The final race will take place on Friday 23 July.

Keep logging on to for daily report and results.

List of entries so far

598 Geoff Town and Brian Turner Broxbourne

617 Graham Lamond and Scott Train South Windermere

630 Stephen Clark and Phil Grey Cardiff Bay

1117 Keith Jamieson and Maf Smith Bassenthwaite

1155 Stuart and Jennifer Jones Cardiff Bay

1295 Duncan Baird and Bill Turton Cardiff Bay

1333 Peter Clark and Christopher Thompson Humber Yawl

2162 Ian Horton and Mark Jones Cardiff Bay

2620 David Naylor and Norman Christie Leigh & Lowton

2645 Mike Jones and Simon Thomas Cardiff Bay

2663 David Flint and Dave Hemingway Llangorse

2984 Kenny Leask and Trina Coyne Lerwick

3164 Roland Antonelli and Andy Cross Carsington

3429 Colin Fletcher and Hugh Fletcher Llangorse

3591 Charles Apthorp and Hayling Island

3603 Brett and Ben Dingwall Grafham

3639 Mike Lyddon and Richard Rigg Bala

3645 Glyn Morgan and Chris Hough Bewl Valley

3655 Will Gardner and Sam Parker Notts County

3675 Adrian Tattersall and Tim Smart Bala

3681 Pip Hudson and Geoff Ashburner Broxbourne

3685 Jeremy Arnold and John Allen Notts County

3699 Simon Kneller and David Lucas Grafham

3716 Justin and Amanda Waples Grafham

3721 Steve Goacher and Phil Evans Royal Windermere

3727 Andrew Palmer and Graham Wadeley Grafham

3734 Howard Green and Ian Preston Leigh & Lowton

3750 Andy Goddard and Colin Pierce Dovestone

3759 Bryan Willis and John McPeake Carrickfergus

3768 John Wardrop and Neil Cunliffe Bewl Valley

3770 Neil Platt and Andy Weatherspoon Bolton & West Kirby

3776 Greg Wells and David Tulloch Hayling Island

3777 Geoff Bayliss and Adrian Simpson Hayling Island

3784 John Hull and Sylvia Hull Tees & Hartlepool

3786 Alan Bax and Paul Busby Hayling Island

3787 David Brockbank and Rob Parfitt Royal Windermere

3796 Joachim Cobarro and Javier Chacartegui RCN Port de Pollenca

3802 Ewan Masson and James Dick Grafham

3805 David McKee and Dovestone

3806 Peter Hogg and David Downs Dovestone

3808 Noel West and Amanda Conrad Bewl Valley

3813 Richard Estaugh and Tim Harper Chase

3815 Athol King and Trevor Bellis Derwent

3817 Mike Hart and Tim Hall Port Dinorwic

3818 Gill Browning and Simon Hunt Hayling Island