Ruairidh and Graham Scott win 1720 nationals at Royal Southern YC

‘King Quick’, sailed by Ruairidh and Graham Scott really lived up to its name at the Murphy and Nye-sponsored 1720 UK National Championship hosted by the Royal Southern YC from 1-3 July. With nine races, all sailed in remarkably consistent 12-20 knot south-westerlies, the 26-strong fleet enjoyed excellent courses provided by Tony Lovell and his race team and some extremely tight racing – particularly in the fight for the podium place behind the flying Scotts.

Going into the last three race day, only 4 points separated 2nd place from 6th and the last race turned into something of a nail biter as the breeze dropped and started to fluctuate. King Quick scoring only 12 points and winning the regatta with a race to spare left the arena, leaving Ian Atkins and to record their first race win and secure 2nd overall from the other Scottish raiders – Charlie Frize Jnr and his team on Buddy L. Mike Budd took fourth in ‘Gul’, Geoff Carveth and Paul Heys were 5th in ‘tacktick micronet’, while last year’s champions David Greenhalgh and Paul Lovejoy on ‘G&T rounded out the prize-winners in 6th.

In his prizegiving speech the Commodore Barry Peddley explained that the Royal Southern had ‘adopted’ the 1720 class and dedicated the William Sparshatt Memorial Trophy to the class. This trophy which was gifted to the club in memory of one of its most popular young members, recognises the spirit of sportsmanship, competitiveness and friendliness for which William himself was renowned. The biggest cheer of the day greeted the announcement of the winner – an owner that turns up to every 1720 event is rarely first across the line and always amongst the last to leave the bar – Mark Greenaway and La Licorne.