Founded by Philippe Jeantot in 1989, the Vendée Globe is a single-handed non-stop round the world yacht race. Since 1992, the Vendée Globe has taken place every four years and the 2020 version will start on November 8.

The competitors include Yachting World columnist Pip Hare and Hugo Boss poster-boy Alex Thomson.

The full list of confirmed skippers is as follows:

  • Fabrice Amedeo Newrest – Art & Fenetres
  • Romain Atansio Pure – Best Western
  • Alexia Barrier 4myplanet
  • Yannick Bestaven Maitre Coq IV
  • Jérémie Beyou Charal
  • Arnaud Boissieres La Mie Caline – Artisans Artipole
  • Louis Burton Buereau Vallee 2
  • Manuel Cousin Groupe Setin
  • Clarisse Cremer Banque Populaire X
  • Charlie Dalin Apivia
  • Samantha Davies Iniatives-Coeur
  • Benjamin Dutreux Water Family
  • Kevin Escoffier PRB
  • Pip Hare Medallia
  • Boris Herrmann Seaxplorer – Yacht Club de Monaco
  • Ari Huusela Stark
  • Jean Le Cam Yes We Cam!
  • Stéphane Le Diraison Time For Oceans
  • Miranda Merron Campagne De France
  • Giancarlo Pedote Prysmian Group
  • Alan Roura La Fabrique
  • Thomas Ruyant Linkedout
  • Damien Seguin Groupe Apicil
  • Kojiro Shiraishi DMG Mori
  • Maxime Sorel V and B-Mayenne
  • Alex Thomson Hugo Boss
  • Nicolas Troussel Corum L’Epargne