A total of 92 young sailors have been selected for the Volvo RYA National Youth Squad

Following last week’s Volvo RYA Youth Championships and Trials, 92 talented young sailors have been selected for the 2002 Volvo RYA National Youth Squad. The sailors will benefit from top level coaching and sports science support during the RYA (Royal Yachting Association) series of National Squad Training Camps. Sailors also receive the prized squad jacket recognising their outstanding achievement of gaining selection for the Youth Squad.

2002 Volvo RYA National Youth Squad

Hobie 16

Ben Cutler Sharp/Rupert Stock-Weymouth and Portland Sailing Academy

Ben Newton/Tom Barnes-Restronguet

Ben Mansfield/Ben Hinks-Royal Southern Yacht Club

Toby Orpin/Mike Laming-Sheppey Yacht Club

Ross Clark/Richard Deyes-Weston Sailing Club

420 boys

Elvind Karlsen/Haakon Karlsen-Royal Northern Clyde Yacht Club

Nick Cherry/Chris Evans-Alton Water Sailing Club

Laurie Fitzjohn-Sykes/Tom Mapplebeck-Datchet Water Sailing Club

Callum MacDonald/Andrew Greer-Royal Northern Clyde Yacht Club

Ben Ainsworth/Tom Heywood-Bewl Valley Sailing Club

Oliver Dix/Philip Lasko-Hayling Island Sailing Club

Ian Watson/David Putt-Royal Lymington Sailing Club

Matt Burge/Simon Wheeler-Poole Yacht Club

James Roche/Edward Males-Bough Beach

420 girls

Charlotte Savage/Maia Walsh-Barnt Green

Alison Martin/crew to be decided-Burghfield

Joanne MacDonald/Faye Govan-Royal Northern Clyde Yacht Club

Joanna Brigg/Micky Boughton-Itchenor Sailing Club

Lucy MacGregor/Nicola MacGregor-Poole Yacht Club

29er boys

Jonny Marshall/Tom Smedley-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

Stephen Wilson/John Garth-Sunderland

Ian Martin/Olivier Vidal-Burghfield

Bernard Gammon/Andrew Gammon-Covenham

Edd Clayson/Adam Clarke-Grafham Water Sailing Club

Jonathan Frazer/Jonathan Clegg-Hayling Island Sailing Club

Luke Patience/Adam Wagner-Royal Northern Clyde Yacht Club

Ed Chapman/Anthony Chapman-Rutland Water Sailing Club

David Evans/Andrew Skubala-British Steel Sailing Club

Richard Peacock/Tom Storey-Bartley

Tom Dawson/Dan Boatman-Sunderland


Fred Shone/Hugh Shone-Castle Cove

29er girls

Pippa Wilson/Jenny Marks-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

Laser Standard boys

Charles Baillie-Strong-Stockes Bay Sailing Club

Nick Scott-Grafham Water Sailing Club

Luke Cross-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

Andy Brooks-Elton Sailing Club

Alastair Conn-Derwent Resevoir

John Woolcock-Mounts Bay

Will Hemsley-Burghfield

Stephen Broom-Spinnaker Sailing Club

Nick Mouchin-Burghfield

Stephen Powell-Hayling Island Sailing Club

Radial boys

Nick Thompson-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

James Tilley-Restronguet

Giles Scott-Grafham Water Sailing Club

Vincent Christian-Ely Sailing Club

Adam Cockerill-Emsworth Slipper Sailing Club

Dominic Hutton-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

Chris Grube-Bala

Ben Paton-Royal Lymington Yacht Club

Alex Townsend-Burghfield Sailing Club

Steven Hall-Hollowell

Cambell Davidson-Largs

Kier Clarke-Lyme Regis

Radial girls

Natalie Lloyd-Merchant Taylors School Boat Club

Charlotte Dobson-Royal Northern Clyde Yacht Club

Colette Blair-Bewl Valley

Kate Williams-Port Dinorwic Sailing Club

Anneka Smith-Papercourt

Hannah Blore-Gresford