Raymarine reveal nominations for YJA Yachtsman of the Year and Young Sailor of the Year Awards.

Finalists for the Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year and Raymarine Young Sailor of the year have been shortlisted. The majority of the contenders are made up of our Olympic medal winners. There is a team nomination for all medal winners of the British Olympic sailing team as well as a joint nomination for gold medalists Ben Ainslie MBE and Shirley Robertson MBE, Sarah Ayton and Sarah Webb.

Mike Golding has also been nominated his for his amazing victory in winning the 2004 Transat solo Transatlantic Race. Golding’s Open 60 Ecover was one of the first to suffer gear failure when the pump used to power his yacht’s keel from one side to the other, failed within 24 hours of the start, and he was left to pump the canting keel manually each time he tacked. golding displayed supreme seamanship to keep Ecover racing. He took monohull honours with a time of 12 days 15hours 18mins and 8 secs – two days faster than the previous record set 12 years earlier.

The three finalists for Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year are Tom Phipps (16yrs) and Jonathan Cook (16yrs) as a joint nomination. The pair have have a great season in 2004 consistently beating their rivals, and the majority of adults, despite being only 16 years old. As the leading youth catamaran sailors they have been selected by the RYA as Olympic transitional sailors and have the Olympics firmly in their sights.

Nick Thompson (18yrs) is another nominee who has performed outstandingly this season. He has proved that he can compete with the best Laser sailors in the world. His many acolades include: Gold medallist at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship 2004, Poland in the Laser Class; youngest male member of the RYA Olympic Development Squad; 5th RYA Olympic Trials racing against seniors.

Tristan Jaques (18yrs) and Alain Sign (18 yrs) complete the nominations for this year’s Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year as another joint entry. The first time a crew has gained a clean sweep in all events in the same year, achieving1st in the 29er class National Championship (winning for the second year) and in the 29er Class Inland Championship, RYA Youth Championships, the 29er World Championship, the 29er Eurocup Series, and the J105 National Championship (part of the crew). Additionally, they are RYA transitional sailors in the 470 and were members of the RYA 29er Class Youth Squad.

The awards will be presented on the opening day of The London Boat Show, January 6th, at the ExCel exhibition centre in London’s Docklands.