Wilsonian Sailing Club held its Topper/Laser open meeting on Saturday 31 July in glorious sunshine

Wilsonian Sailing Club held its Topper/Laser open meeting on Saturday 31 July in glorious sunshine and with temperatures in the high 20s. Entries were down though, as many youngsters were away at the National Schools Sailing Regatta in Bridlington, though a few did travel back overnight. There were 24 Topper entries, including 18 visitors but just two Laser Radials from the host club.

Light airs prevailed during the morning, so it was decided to take an early lunch and run the three races back-to-back in the afternoon on the expectation of a sea breeze. Patience was rewarded as a light easterly picked-up, adequate for all competitors to complete the courses, though spotting the wind shifts was essential for success.

In the first race several shared the lead and all bunched at the downwind mark but Alex Grove edged ahead on the final beat to the line, followed by Mark Lambert and Dicken Macken. Andy Fielder gradually extended an early lead to win the second race, with Lambert again second, Preston Taylor third, Groves fourth and Joseph Wellerd fifth.

With two races to count, the top prizes were still up for grabs going into the final race. However, Lambert followed the leader all the way for another second to clinch victory, whereas Groves, finishing seventh, had to rely on his previous results to secure the runners-up prize.

Wellerd led the fleet over the two laps for line honours and leapfrog to third place on aggregate, while a fifth spot secured four prize for Fielder. Although Taylor claimed another third place he had to settle for fifth overall.

Prizes were awarded to Toby Mumford for the first junior not in the top prizes and to Thomas Kift as first Wilsonian member. Andrew Smith won the contest with Joanne Wicken in the Laser Radials.

Overall Results

1st 44238 Mark Lambert (Newhaven & Seaford SC) Junior 4 pts

2nd 33086 Alex Groves (Island Barn Reservoir SC) Junior 5 pts

3rd 44535 Joseph Wellerd (Crawley Mariners YC) 6 pts

4th 44889 Andy Fielder (Broadwater SC) 6pts

5th 44869 Preston Taylor (Newhaven & Seaford SC) 6 pts

6th 32443 Toby Mumford (Papercourt SC) Junior 8pts

First Wilsonian SC member: 22985 Thomas Kift

Laser Radial Open

1st 171989 Andrew Smith (Wilsonian SC) 2nd 133369 Joanne Wicken (Wilsonian SC)