A total of 13 teams are to compete in the RYA British Match Racing Final this weekend

This weekend (14-15 September) will see 13 teams battle it out for the title of RYA British Match Racing Champion and a stake in the £1,500 prize money. Four qualifying events have taken place throughout the year, with the top two/three teams from each qualifying event going through to the final. Paul Campbell James the RYA Youth Match Racing Champion will also be competing in the final along with the runner-up at that event, Julia Cornah.

Racing will take place over two days, with each team starting off by sailing a round robin, where each skipper will race every other boat in their group once, they will then be ranked according to their results. Following this, a second series will be raced with the top six placed boats going through to the next series. In the final round robin the six qualified skippers from series one and two will race each other once, and a winner will be determined.

The top four placed skippers from the RYA British Match Racing Finals will go on to compete in the RYA Match Racing Open Championship from the 17-20 September, and will be able to line up against some of the best match racers in the world. All of which currently belong to America’s Cup Syndicates, including three teams from the ‘home grown’ GBR Challenge. The confirmed entries for this event are: Ian Walker (GBR Challenge), Chris Main (GBR Challenge), Andy Green (GBR Challenge), Gavin Brady (Prada Challenge) and Palo Chen (Onorato Challenge).