Up to 13 of the world's finest Superyachts are expected in Palma, Spain next week for the Superyacht Cup


Up to 13 of the world’s finest Superyachts are expected in Palma, Spain next week for the Superyacht Cup 12-15 October, organised by Elvström Superyacht Sailmakers.

Hosted this year at its new venue, the 152-berth Marina Port de Mallorca located in the centre of Palma’s Paseo Marítimo, the event welcomes the return of competitors and sponsors for the ninth edition of this popular three-day event.

Competing in their first Superyacht Cup this year is Adèle, the magnificent 54m (180ft) ketch designed by Hoek Design Naval Architects and built by Vitters Shipyard in Holland.

Started in 1996 by Patrick Whetter and Spike Thompson from Elvström Superyacht Sailmakers, also based on the island with sail lofts and production in Alaró, The Superyacht Cup has become a favourite end-of-season gathering for owners, captains and crew. What started as a simple dock party in 1996, the event now incorporates a sailing programme of three races over three days, with yachts participating in a ‘pursuit race’ format with points accumulated for each day’s results.

As Patrick Whetter, Race Director of The Superyacht Cup explains: “It is impossible to fairly rate a fleet of Superyachts, not to mention starting them all simultaneously from the same start line. Instead, we operate a staggered start with the smaller boats starting first, we then calculate the difference in the finishing times between each of the yachts which allows us to calculate or adjust their start time for the following day.”

The pursuit race format has proven its success at The Superyacht Cup over the years as it offers a safe environment for yachts of such a size to compete together. As Whetter adds:

“The pursuit format is safe and fun for everyone. In an ideal world, all the yachts cross the finish line at the same time, and that means they all get back to the dock in time for the evening entertainment!”

Racing starts on Thursday 13 October and finishes on Saturday 15 October.

Entry list (as of 3 October)

1. Nephele (34m)

2. Scorpione dei Mare (29m)

3. Rebecca (42.40m)

4. Annagine (23.40m)

5. Saudade (34m)

6. Sojana (35m)

7. Adele (54.60m)

8. Bolero (32m)

9. Arrayan (30.50m)

10. All Smoke (23.97m)