A total of 90 entries braved the wild winds last weekend to compete for the Steve Nicholson Memorial Trophy at Northampton SC

A very impressive fleet of 90 boats braved the wild weather to compete for the 2004 Steve Nicholson Memorial Trophy on 31 January at Northampton SC. The entry fees for this event were donated to the asthma research.

The competitors were split into three fleets, singlehanders, doublehanders and asymmetrics. Each fleet sailed two races with courses set by race officer Chris Wright. First off were the doublehanders led on the water by Ian Pinnell and Scott Allen in a 505, but the reaches were way too tight for them to hold their monster-sized spinnaker. The Fireballs on the other hand could fly their spinnakers on at least one of the four reaches that zig zagged the fleet down to the leeward mark so they were always close enough to ensure that Shane McCarthy and Johnny Mildred won the first race on handicap. Richard Estaugh and Andy Thompson were pleased to have chosen to sail their GP 14 and finished second in the first race on handicap.

The second race again went the way of the Fireballs with Angus Hemmings and Steve Chesney taking the gun. Shane McCarthy and Johnny Mildred took a couple of swims but still managed to finish fourth which turned out to be good enough to win overall. Estaugh and Thompson’s chances sipped away from them as they also had a couple of long swims. Third overall was Jeremy Davy and Richard Wagstaff who suffered no capsizing problems in a Flying 15.

OK National Champion Nick Craig made light of the 30 knot gusts and won both races in the singlehanded fleet with Jim Hunt finishing second in both. Tom Taylor sailed fantastically well to take a fifth and a third and finish third overall and take the prize for first junior. The Phantoms walked last year’s event and Lawrence Crispin finished third in race two but his first race result let him down and he finished outside the prizes.

The asymmetric fleet comprised a good mix of 29ers, Musto Skiffs, 405s and a smattering of RS boats. Kev Anderson who had travelled from Sunderland sailed consistently and took two second places and in doing so beat Musto Skiff champion Richard Stenhouse into third overall. However, Roger Phillips and Will Cracker sailing a 29er mastered the conditions and took first overall with a first and a third.

The organisers would like to thank all those that braved the conditions and competed. The entry fees were donated to.

Overall Results


1st Fireball 14773, Shane McCarthy and Johnny Mildred

2nd Fireball 14779 Vince Horey and Simon Hextall

3rd Flying Fifteen 3760 J. Davy and R.G.Wagstaff


1st OK 2110 Nick Craig

2nd OK 2109 Jim Hunt

3rd Optimist Tom Taylor


1st 29er Roger Phillips and Will Cracker

2nd Musto Skiff Kev Anderson

3rd Musto Skiff Richard Stenhouse