A total of 54 boats turned out for the RS200 open meeting at Lee-on-Solent SC

A red hot fleet of 54 RS200s and weather that became increasingly bizarre as the weekend progressed was the recipe for one of the most open events in many a year at Lee-on-Solent SC. The depth of the fleet was demonstrated by 28 boats recording top 10 results.

Saturday’s racing started with a westerly Force 4, and classic Solent short chop. Lee Sydenham/Anne Vaudray were majestic in the first race to lead from start to finish with Hamish Calder/Severine Rees-Jones in second. Jon Lewis/Millie Parsons shook off the early challenge of Paul Dorer/Ian Robertson to score an emphatic win from the Hewitsons, and Dorer in race 2. Race 3 was held in a Force 2 with the tide turning. Hamish Walker/Caroline Eyre, Steve Dunn/Harriett Edwards went right up the beat to be clear 1.2 with Ian Pickard/Lucy Matthews third.

Following the RS Ball the fleet was up bright and early on Sunday and the Race 4 started in a gentle force 2 with Lee Sydenham leading. The front pack watched in horror as anyone who gybed early found huge planning gusts that took them to the leeward mark. Walker/Eyre shot into the lead. Behind was carnage as boats capsized everywhere as the wind rose from Force 1-2 – 5. Walker won from James Stewart/Elaine Turner and Jane Robertson/Helen Rollinson.

The Derbys won a rainy race 5 from Walker, Dunn, and Chris Trainer/Bev Jordan. With the wind from the north-west, race 6’s beats were against a strong tide. Calder and Vincent were 2.3 behind Phil Sowden and 11 year old Daniel Sowden at the first mark. The front 4 inched their way around the windward mark to rush downwind with the tide. The rest of the fleet was slowly moving backwards away from the mark. Just in time, a new breeze allowed everyone to reach to the windward mark. The Sowdens won, with Vincent sneaking second from Dencher. The ever consistent Derbys finished seventh, giving them overall victory by 2 point only.

Overall Results

1st Tim Greenwood, Chew Valley Lake

2nd John Lapes, Bristol Corinthian

3rd Christopher Froehlich, Burghfield

4th Dave Machin, Netley

5th Stephen Robertson, Bowmoor