Twenty two Ospreys competed in the inland championship at Rutland SC on the 13-14 October

Twenty two Ospreys competed in the inland championship at Rutland SC on the 13-14 October.

Conditions on arrival did not look promising, but after a postponement, the first race was sailed in a Force 1. Mike Taylor/Jon Willey sailed a perfect first beat to arrive at the windward mark first, with Jane and Christopher Seymour in second, followed by Andy Barker/Phil Angrave and Will Odling/Nick Daily-Hunt. A collision at the next mark meant that the Seymours had to perform a 720 which effectively ended their chances in the race, leaving Odling/Daily-Hunt to battle it out with Taylor/Willey for first place. Odling/Daily-Hunt finished first, followed by Taylor/Willey. Peter Bannister/Nick Willis sailed well to overtake Barker/Angrave to finish in third, with Robert Shaw and new crew Richard Walker in fourth place.

Sunday’s conditions looked even less promising, with fog aswell as no wind, but after a postponement, the fog cleared and the wind suddenly came up to a Force 3, and two races were sailed. The second race saw Barker/Angrave leading virtually from the start, followed by Odling/Daily-Hunt. Bannister/Willis again came in third, with Taylor/Willey in fourth.

With the wind dropping a little, the race officer quickly fired off the final race, which saw Barker/Angrave again led from the start, with Odling-Daily-hunt and the Seymours battling it out down the first reach. The final beat saw Barker/Angrave leading from Odling/Daily-Hunt who held these positions until the finish, which gave Barker/Angrave the event.

Taylor/Willey were in third, followed by Bannister/Willis and the Seymours. The Seymours tacked for the finish line earlier that Taylor/Willey and Bannister/Willis, and came in on port at the line behind Taylor/Willey in third, squeezing Bannister/Willis out to fifth.

Overall Results

1st Andy Barker and Phil Angrave (2pts)

2nd Will Odling and Nick Daily-Hunt (3pts)

3rd Mike Taylor and Jon Willey (5pts)

4th Peter Bannister and Nick Willis (6pts)

5th Robert Shaw and Richard Walker (10pts)

6th Jane and Christopher Seymour (11pts)