Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl from the USA won the Star Bacardi Cup from Paul Cayard and Phil Trinter

The 75th Annual Bacardi Cup Star class regatta concluded yesterday (Sunday) with the 2000 Olympic Star class champion convincingly winning the Trofeo Bacardi by 16 points from nearest rival Paul Cayard and Phil Trinter. Despite posting a 15th in the final race, they had sailed well enough throughout the regatta to secure the championship with three firsts and a second place.

RYA team GBR sailors and Olympic gold medallist, Iain Percy and crew, Steve Mitchell, improved their game when it counted in the fickle winds on the last day, moving up from 20th place at the start of the race to finish in third place. This moved them up in the overall positions to fourth place overall. Teammate and fellow Olympian, Ian Barker, sailing with Ed Peel, finished just behind Percy in the final race of the regatta, which put him in a creditable ninth place overall.

Percy/Mitchell closed the gap to finish just three points behind Paul Cayard and Phil Trinter, and one point behind last year’s Bacardi Cup winners, Peter Bromby and Martin Seese of Bermuda.

Percy commented, “Yesterday was our best race of the week. The competition has been really tough and we have still got a lot to learn in these boats in the light conditions, but I am really pleased with this result.” The RYA team GBR ‘Stars’ now have a few days back in England before going to Palma to continue their training programmes.

Overall Results (6 races sailed, 1 discard)

1, Mark Reynolds and Magnus Liljedahl, USA, ((23),1,2,1,1,15) 20 pts

2, Paul Cayard and Phil Trinter, USA, (10, (OCS), 4,6,2, 14) 36 pts

3, Peter Bromby and Martin Seese BER, ((19),17,6,7,7,1)) 38 pts

4, Iain Percy and Steve Mitchell, (31,2,1,2,(35),3) 39 pts

Other GBR results

9, Ian Barker and Edmund Peel, (8,7,16, (DNF),26,4) 61 pts