Terry Curtis wins last Sunday OK open meeting at South Staffs 17/10/06

On Sunday 15 October South Staffs Sailing Club warmly greeted 13 visitors to add to the ten home boats for the annual OK open meeting. This followed on from Saturday’s training day for those wanting to learn more about boat set up and technique.

Race one was hotly contested with Ian Harris, Mike Edwards and Terry Curtis fighting for the lead. Harris lost ground when the wind died on him, allowing Neil Goodhead into third. Edwards rounded the final mark and looked sure to win. However, Curtis gained on him and managed to take the gun by half a boat length, with Goodhead third and Ed Bradburn sailing well for fourth.

After lunch, race two started in a little more wind, with the Race Officer. Saturday’s training was clearly paying off for some. On the run places changed again with some sailing too close to the island. Goodhead sailed low and with more wind moved up to second, with others gaining also. Veteran Bill Bradburn then took the lead which he held until the final beat, eventually being piped on the line by Goodhead, with Curtis and Harris third and fourth.

So, with one race to go Goodhead, Curtis and Edwards all had an opportunity to win the event. Edwards made the best start to lead at the first mark, followed by Gavin Waldron and Ed Bradburn. On the run Edwards sailed low to avoid the island, with Waldron and a few others taking a risk and sailing in close. This tactic paid off, as Waldron took the lead which he held to the finish. Edwards and Curtis battled it out for second, with Curtis eventually overhauling Edwards on the final lap. Ed Bradburn just took fourth from Goodhead and Bill Bradburn fifth.

So, Curtis had emerged the winner, from Goodhead and Edwards. Fourth and first Veteran was Waldron. Ed Bradburn finished first Junior and the Cadet prize going to Jonny Arnell.

Overall Results
1st 2118, Terry Curtis Upper Thames 3 pts
2nd 2108, Neil Goodhead SSSC 4 pts
3rd 2107, Mike Edwards SSSC 5 pts
4th 2085 , Gavin Waldron SSSC 6 pts
5th 2092, Bill Bradburn SSSC 8 pts
6th 2067, Ed Bradburn SSSC 8 pts
7th 2105, Ian Harris Bristol Corinthian 10 pts
8th 056, Keith Dutton SSSC 16 pts
9th 2104 , Deryck Lovegrove Kingsmead 17 pts
10th 2068, Tony Woods Ethrow SC 18 pts
11th 2015, Jonny Arnell Christchurch 19 pts
12th 1985, Keith Byers Morcome & Heysham 21 pts
13th 2060 , Paul Pike Covenham SC 23 pts
14th 2098 , Edward Dutton SSSC 25 pts
15th 2031, Dave Cooper Overy Staithe SC 25 pts
16th aus, 678 Will Croxford SSSC 28 pts
17th 2056, Andy Holmes SSSC 31 pts
18th 2055, Daz Prior South Windemere 32 pts
19th 2069 , Colin Mapp Telford 36 pts
20th 2074 , Roger Cooper Herne Bay 37 pts
21st 1959, Dave Taylor SSSC 39 pts
22nd 1927, Colin Page Calshot SC 43 pts
23rd 1918 , Kevin Moss Newhaven & Seaford 46 pts