With an overall score of just two points, Neil Goodhead won last Sunday's OK open meeting at Ardleigh SC

The penultimate event in the OK Dinghy Eastern Area Series was sailed at Ardleigh Sailing Club on 21 September. Visitors from as far afield as Stafford converged for three exciting races in an extremely shifty and variable breeze.

Neil Goodhead led at the first mark from Robert Deaves and went on to win by a considerable margin. Deaves slipped back and eventually recovered to third while Mike Edwards took third. Race two started with a large shift which meant the line couldn’t be laid on starboard. Deaves tacked on the pin and led away from the line and for the next two laps. However, the wind didn’t co-operate and left him in a hole while half the fleet sailed past. Goodhead again won with Edwards second and Will Turner in third.

The final race was even more difficult with a breeze dying towards the end to leave a long procession. For the final race, it was again Goodhead followed by Edwards with Simon Shaw in third for most of the race until being overtaken by Peter Turner in the closing stages.

Overall Results

1st Neil Goodhead GBR 2108 South Staffs (2 points)

2nd Mike Edwards GBR 2107 South Staffs (4 points)

3rd Robert Deaves GBR 2081 Dabchicks (8 points)

4th Andy Turner GBR 2054 Ardleigh (8 points)

5th Peter Turner GBR