The National 12 Cartoon Trophy at Waldringfield took place in breezy conditions last weekend

A small but select fleet of National 12s ventured to the Deben on 18-18 September for a windy weekend of close and high quality racing amongst national and inland champions past and present for the Waldringfield Cartoon Trophy. .

Saturday’s forecast included Force 8 gusts and the pre-start capsizes had the effect of keeping everyone on their toes throughout the racing. Race one was led for a lap by Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley, eventually being overhauled by Tom Stewart and Liz Ross. An almost inseparably close finish saw Jon Brown and Helen Hunt take third from Jon and Charlotte Ibbotson.

Race two saw place changes throughout the top five with at least three different race leaders. Ultimately Jon and Charlotte Ibbotson won from Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley with Stewart and Ross third.

Sunday dawned a little less breezy but the gusts were fierce and excitement continued. Stewart and Ross won both with relative ease, with Gifford and Mackley completing their collection of seconds with four out of four. Antony Gifford and Katy Meadowcroft took third in race three and Brown and Hunt third in race four.

Due to technical complications, Stewart and Ross retired from each race at the end of the event, giving Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley the Cartoon Trophy 2004.

Overall Results

1st – Zippy 3431, Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley

2nd – Tonto 3483, Jon Brown and Helen Hunt

3rd – Purple Turtle 3445, Jon and Charlotte Ibbotson