Graham Camm and Zoe Ballantyne win Charles Sawyer Trophy at Northampton SC

A small but talented fleet of N12s sailors turned up to compete for the annually-awarded Charles Sawyer Trophy at Northampton SC last weekend.

Five races were scheduled, three on Saturday and two on Sunday. As it turned out the fickle late summer breeze meant that only four races were completed. Graham Camm and Zoe Ballantyne (N3492) revelled in the light stuff and won three races and finished second in the last. Tom Stewart and Liz Ross (N3476) recovered well from bad starts and first beats on Saturday and improved on Sunday winning race four, they finished second overall.

Mike Hoyle crewed by Tim Goodhew (N3438) sailed a very consistent series including three third places and funnily enough finished third.

The team prize was won by Burghfield SC with the Camms being backed up by Caroline Martin and Jane Jones who finished fifth overall.

Overall Results

1st G. Camm and Z. Ballantyne Burghfield SC

2nd T. Stewart and E. Ross Northampton SC

3rd M. Hoyle and T. Goodhew Henley SC