A total of 15 National 12s contested the Ganymede Trophy at Aldeburgh YC on 1-2 September

The beautiful River Alde was the venue for 15 National 12s to sail for the Ganymede Trophy, in sunshine and light to medium airs over the first weekend in September. The first race was led early on by Bruce and Henry Johnson. Mike Cooke and Kate Edwards got the better of them during an extremely tidal mark rounding and established a large lead which they held to the finish. Frances Gifford and Neil Ravenscroft got through to second and Julian Hood and Jon Thompson finished third.

Four races were sailed on Sunday due to the postponement of the second race on Saturday. The first of these was led by Antony Gifford and Jo Brown from the start and held to the finish. Much place changing occurred in the pursuing pack with Tom Stewart and Liz Ross finishing second followed by Jon Brown and Guy Johnson in third.

The third race of the open meeting saw various boats leading including Stewart and Ross, but Gifford and Brown climbed their way through the fleet to take line honours with Brown and Johnson again finishing third. Race four produced a new winner in Jon Brown and Guy Johnson, with Antony Gifford and Jo Brown continuing their Sunday excellence finishing second. With three races to count this was enough to win the open meeting.

The final race of the day was won by Bruce and Henry Johnson with Jon Brown and Guy Johnson taking second to clinch second overall from Tom Stewart and Liz Ross, the newly recrowned national champions taking third place.

The Admirals Cup prize, for the first non-double bottomed boat was closely fought, but won by Tom Alexander and Ben Hunt sailing Bicycle Clips, with runners up followed by Jerry and Margaret Garner.

Overall Results

1st Antony Gifford and Jo Brown (Aldeburgh YC)

2nd Jon Brown and Guy Johnson (Royal Harwich YC)

3rd Tom Stewart and Liz Ross (RHYC)

1st Admirals Cup

Tom Alexander and Ben Hunt