A total of nine National 12s, including James and Kirsty Nicholson from Sweden took part in the Tate Trophy event at Newcastle on 11 November

A total of nine National 12s, including James and Kirsty Nicholson from Sweden, gathered at Newburn slipway, the upstream winter quarters of Tynemouth Sailing Club, on Sunday 11 November for the Tate Trophy.

A fresh north-westerly breeze spread the fleet over the upstream windward leg. Philip David, crewed by Yvonne McInnes, reached the windward mark ahead of the fleet, with Howard Chadwick, crewed by Cathy Lawson, and Sue Jones, with Rob Hartley crewing, hot on their heels. Peter Roe and Helen Bird lost their fourth place following rudder problems and Peter Miatt, crewed by Matthew Ayre, did his usual swimming trick. David extended his lead to take line honours. Jones overhauled Chadwick early in the race to take second and third place respectively.

After a brief pitstop, the fleet took to the water in slightly less wind but more sunshine than in the first race. Once again David’s speed allowed him to stamp his authority on the fleet and take first place. However, Jones and Chadwick jostled for second position, with Chadwick eventually taking second place, with Jones in third.

Overall Results

1st Philip David and Yvonne McInnes (Yorkshire Ouse SC, N3217, Baggy Trousers)

2nd Howard Chadwick and Cathy Lawson (Yeadon SC, N3356, Design 8)

3rd Sue Jones and Rob Hartley (Nottingham SC, N3263, Crusader)

Vintage Prize

Ian Purkis (Yorkshire Ouse SC, N1620, Proctor Mk 6)