Vince Horey and Thomas Horey were the overall winners of this weekend's Mirror open meeting at Up River YC

Bright skies and a Force 3 greeted the Mirror sailors who attend the open meeting at Up River Yacht Club as part of the Eastern Area Travellers Circuit, over the weekend of 7-8 September.

The first race got away first time and it was Vince. and Thomas Horey who lead at the windward mark from Mathew Pickett and Anya Horey, these two battled it out for a lap until the Horeys pulled clear to win by a large margin with Pickett hanging onto second.

Even more boats turned up on Sunday braving the early morning rain. Once the rain stopped the wind came in and race two started with the tide pushing many of the boats across the start line just before the start, they all just managed to get back and it was a clean start.

Alan Winter and John Houlden lead at the first mark followed by Edward Lachlan-Cope and Simon Martin, with Vince and Thomas Horey Third. On the next beat Winter sailed out into the tide and ran out of pressure, the Horeys tacked at the mark and headed inshore to the slacker tide, and at the windward mark the Horeys lead.

They then followed the lead boat, who was on his way in for a cup of tea leading the Horeys passed the mark which resulted in them having to beat back up to the mark. Lachlan-Cope now led with Dale Winter and Emma Houlden pulling through the fleet to second. Horey managed to regain the lead on the last beat and just beat Dale Winter with Lechlan-Cope third.

Thanks to the sea breeze and advantageous tidal stream, race three proved to be the best race of the weekend, the fleet stayed together for most of the first leg until the Horeys broke clear and went on to win by a large margin. Dale Winter once again finished second and Pickett ended a consistent weekend with a third.

Overall Results

1st Vince and Thomas Horey King George SC 2pts

2nd Dale Winter and Emma Houlden Cam SC 4pts

3rd Mathew Pickett and Anya Horey Up River YC 5pts

4th Edward Lachlan and Simon Martin Cam SC 9pts

5th Alan Winter and John Houlden Cam SC 10pts

6th Martin and Alex. Johnson Eyott SC 10pts