Having snatched the lead of the Mini Transat from Jonathan Mckee yesterday, Sam Manuard has slid down in to second place once again

The leading pack of sailors in the Mini Transat race is 350nm from Lanzarote, the finish of the first leg of the race from La Rochelle to Brazil. Interestingly, Chris Sayer, the New Zealander who was unable to obtain an entry to the race but who is racing unofficially as a pirate (see http://www.yachting-world.com/auto/newsdesk/20030807170600ywnews.html) is still leading the fleet. He is now well clear of the southern tip of Portugal, having taken a more westerly course than McKee and Manuard.

The lead of the prototype fleet continues to change between Sam Manuard (431-Tip Top Too – Le Grau du Roi – Port Camargue) and Jonathan McKee (247-TEAM McLube). Having taken a six-mile lead yesterday, Manuard has, overnight, fallen behind McKee. McKee has taken control once again but only by three miles. Armel Tripon (151 – Moulin Rotyl) NM and the Irish skipper Cian Mc Carthy (393 – The Tom Crean) are lying in third and fourth respectively.

The leaders of the production boat fleet are Erwan Tymen (426- Pogo 2 Navy Lest) and David Sineau (428-France Fermetures) lying in 12th and 13th respectively.

For Jaime Mumbru (385 – Port de Barcelona) the agony continues with ongoing rudder problems. Having already has stopped twice he had to stop again in La Corogne to fix the rudder for the third time.

Meanwhile, David Lancry (121 – Mensura Frost) has received news that a new mast, identical to the one he broke on Friday has been built and that a team will bring it with a new mainsail to Spain where they should arrive on Wednesday morning. They hope that Lancry will be able to leave La Corogne with a new mast on Wednesday evening.

Positions (at 0700 16 September)

1 247 Jonathan McKee TEAM MC LUBE proto

2 431 Samuel Manuard TIP TOP TOO – GRAU DU ROI PORT CAMARGUE proto

3 151 Armel Tripon MOULIN ROTY proto

4 393 Cian Mc Carthy THE TOM CREAN proto

5 316 Pia L’Obry EXPATRIAL.FR proto

6 265 Frédéric Duthil ALL MER proto

7 312 Pascal Doin ASNQ proto

8 139 François Cuinet REGLISSE proto

9 240 Alex Pella AQUATEC – SANTIVERI – TEXKNIT proto

10 321 Jean-Baptiste Pesquet Dejeanty ARTECH – CAEN LA MER proto

11 British

22 326 Ian Munslow ISHTAR proto

51 56 James Bird ATOMIC proto