Harry Melges is currently lying in first place overall at the Melges 24 world championship in Germany

Day two of racing at the Melges 24 world championship in Travemunde, Germany proved to be exciting, full of competition and controversy. Winds were around 8-10 initially and quite shifty. This combined with three general recalls resulted in the postponement of racing for two hours.

As a result of black flag infringements 12 boats were disqualified from race three including Bruno Jourdren (FRA-472 – Pokemon) who subsequently lodged a protest against the disqualification and was re-instated and will receive average points.

On the race course, Harry Melges, helming for Jeff Ecklund, (USA-409 – Star) continued to challenge with strength and speed throughout finally finishing in first place. Demitri Nicolopolous (FRA 370 – Snugasabug) of France and Norway’s Kristopher Spone (NOR 249 – Fruen Maren) finished second and third, followed by Rob Smith (GBR 484 – The New Barbarians) in fourth.

The start of the second race generated more controversy with another group of boats being black flagged. Among them Harry Melges who also protested against disqualification claiming that his number was confused with bow number 70. Again the protest committee found in favour of the competitor and Melges was awarded average points.

For those left racing, a slightly heavier chop developed in the afternoon with winds building to around 10-12 knots. Jamie Lea (GBR 437 – Black Seal) sailed with persistence battling Spone and Tom Freytag (USA 353 – Madcap) early on. In the end they took the lead on the last leg placing first. Spone who had an exceptional day, finished the race in second place followed by Michael Henning helming for Simon Henning (GBR 340 – White Rabbit) in third.

Overnight leader Jean Francois Cruette (FRA 321 – Scutum) had a disasterous day finishing 23rd in the third race and being black flagged in the fourth race ending up 22nd overall. With protests complete, overall results still list Harry Melges, in first place overall followed by Kristopher Spone in second place and Rob Smith in third.