A total of 73 boats turned out for last weekend’s Medway Dinghy Regatta sailed under the burgee of Wilsonian Sailing Club on behalf of Medway Yachting Association

The wind may have been light and fickle but it was at least warm, sunny and dry for the Medway Dinghy Regatta over the weekend 13-14 July. The event was organised by and sailed under the burgee of Wilsonian Sailing Club on behalf of Medway Yachting Association and included a Miracle open meeting and the Byte Travellers’ Series. Six juniors from Broxbourne SC, sailing Toppers had practice racing on the Saturday and then the real thing on Sunday.

Race Officer, Tom Sims, had the courage to set long courses, some over 12 miles for the fast handicap fleet, which gave the 73 competitors plenty of time to suffer the ‘torture by wind’ as one participant put it. However, all four scheduled races (three to count) were completed successfully, the customary helmsmen captured the top prizes and everyone claimed to have had a fantastic weekend – even though the beer was beginning to run low after the Saturday night barbeque and disco.

International Canoe rivals, Simon Allen and Mark Goodchild contested the 14-strong fast handicap event. They missed out in the first race when they sailed the wrong course, but shared the honours in the next three. Allen with two firsts and a second retained the Invicta Trophy with Mark Goodchild runner-up again on six points. Third place was decided in the last race, John Parsons/Bryan Dunmall (RS400) had to hold off the challenge from Martin Jones (Contender), David/Stuart Mason (Laser 4000) and Tony Hunt/David Jones (Fireball) to finish second and secure third place overall.

The Phantoms of Neil Lamprell and Malcolm Levey dominated the competition for the medium handicap. Lamprell convincingly won the first three races to lift the Quintet Trophy while Levey, last year’s winner, with two seconds and a third claimed second spot. There was a close contest between Chris Mason (RS 300) and Mark Bew (Phantom) and were tied on 11points after three races but Mason guaranteed third place by taking pole position in the last race.

Only five Bytes turned up for their Travellers’ Series and as six are required to make a class start, had to join the slow handicap fleet. David and Sandra Wilson sailing their Graduate, came up trumps once again to win all four races and the Medway Regatta Trophy, which is becoming a permanent fixture in their trophy cabinet. The tied score of 11 points for second place was broken in favour of the Bosun of Mike Siveyer with Harriet Burgham crewing in her first regatta, as they finished ahead of third placed Oliver Tweddell (Byte). The six juniors joined the fleet on Sunday and Robert Spence successfully picked up second in the third race to win the junior prize.

Just one visitor, Tania Goulder/Sarah Wren (DYC), joined the 11 entries from the host club for the Miracle open meeting. Peter Horner and David Brooker made certain of claiming the crown by taking pole position in the first three races David/Jackie Hudson secured second place with seven points, just one point ahead of third-placed Colin/Martin Lown. The Lown duo had needed to win the last race to capture the second prize but was robbed by Goulder/Wren who took the line honours.

Thirteen Wayfarers, nine from Medway YC and four from Wilsonian SC turned out and Richard Stone/Catherine Gore (MYC), for the fifth consecutive year, secured the Matkin Trophy with four firsts. Going into the last race, the fight for second place was between John Goudie/Tim Kift (WSC) and Brian Lamb/Matthew Wynn (WSC). Goudie/Kift won the contest by coming second so Lamb/Wynn had to settle for third spot.

The Committee awarded the Bill Stewart Cup, for outstanding performance in the Dinghy Medway Regatta over many years to David and Sandra Wilson

Captain Peter White, Master Medway Ports Authority, presented the trophies and prizes.

Overall Results

Special Prizes

Bill Stewart Cup

Graduate 2974 David/Sandra Wilson

Bosun’s Crew First Regatta – Royal Engineers Prize

Harriet Burgham


1st Topper 41361Robert Spence (Broxbourne SC)

Byte Travellers Series

1st 1275 Oliver Tweddell (Cambridge SC)

Miracle Open

1st 3805 Peter Horner/David Brooker (Wilsonian SC) 3pts

2nd 3795 David/Jackie Hudson (Wilsonian SC) 7pts

3rd 206 Colin/Martin Lown (Wilsonian SC) 8pts


1st 8288 Richard Stone/Catherine Gore (Medway YC) 3pts

2nd 9812 John Goudie/Tim Kift (Wilsonian SC) 7 pts

10201 Brian Lamb/Matthew Wynn (Wilsonian SC) 9 pts

Slow Handicap

1st Graduate 2974 David/Sandra Wilson (Maidenhead SC) 3pts

2nd Bosun 1919 Mike Siveyer/Harriet Burgham (REYC)

3rd Byte 1275 Oliver Tweddell (Cambridge SC)

Medium Handicap

1st Phantom 1073 Neil Lamprell (Wilsonian SC) 3 pts

2nd Phantom 955 Malcolm Levey (Wilsonian SC) 7 pts

3rd RS 300 371 Chris Mason (Wilsonian SC) 8 pts

Fast Handicap

1st Int.Canoe 278 Simon Allen (Hayling Island SC) 4 pts

2nd Int.Canoe 265 Mark Goodchild (Medway YC) 6 pts

3rd RS400 491 John Parsons/Bryan Dunmall (Wilsonian SC) 7 pts