Jim Hunt and Greg O’Brien have won the inaugural Gul RS K6 national championship

The forecast stronger breeze on Sunday 23 September did not materialise for the last day of racing at the inaugural K6 championship, so the event has been sailed in a maximum of 10 knots of breeze. That has been the only imperfection. The Royal Cornwall YC have been superb hosts and the race team ran nine races around well laid courses with virtually no delay at any stage, despite the tricky conditions. Sunshine throughout made up for the lack of a stronger wind day.

Going into the final day, Jim Hunt and Greg O’Brien were looking very strong in the lead, five points ahead of the Wadhams/Davies/Chapman team, but with three races scheduled and a patchy breeze, nothing could be taken for granted. Hunt was first to the top mark in the opening race ahead of Richard Sullivan and Colin Grover, with Wadhams back in fifth, making the event look out of reach. Wadhams, however, picked up places and finally crossed Hunt on the last upwind leg. Hunt got inside at the top mark to lead into the final run, but Wadhams fought back to turn the tables at the leeward mark and won the race. This maintained the pressure in the championship race. Myles Mence and Simon Morgan climbed to third spot yet again, an incredibly consistent performance, and keeping the pressure up on the leading pair.

As it turned out, there was to be no last minute change of fate. Hunt made no mistakes, leading narrowly throughout the last two races, although frequently challenged by Phil McDonald, Malcolm and Poppy Morley in the second race of the day, then Sullivan, Mence and Wadhams in the last.

Hunt and O’Brien were emphatic winners of this very successful event. As you’d expect from a strict one-design keelboat class, the boats were very evenly matched, every shift was an opportunity or a threat depending on your position relative to the fleet and judgement of wind and angles downwind saw some significant place changing. K6 racing will not be for the faint hearted!

Overall Results

1st 109 Jim Hunt and Greg O’Brien, Shustoke SC 9pts

2nd 102 Martin Wadhams, Amanda Davies and Phillippa Chapman, Medway YC 16pts

3rd 104 Myles Mence and Simon Morgan, Royal Solent YC 25pts

4th 116 Richard Sullivan and Colin Grover, Royal Norfolk and Suffolk YC 35pts

5th 111 Phil McDonald, Malcolm and Poppy Morley, Hayling Island SC 38pts

6th 107 Jock Blair and Andrew Gray, Port Edgar YC 44pts

7th 115 Simon Finch and Ian Glyn, 58pts

8th 119 Terry Wilkinson and Owain Franks, Queen Mary SC 58pts

9th 106 Patrick Seeley and Adam Preece, Royal Solent SC 69pts

10th 117 Mike Fawcett and Richard Limposs, Warsash SC 70pts