Geronimo crossed the Jules Verne finish line at 1517 local time

Olivier de Kersauson’s Cap Gemini Schneider sponsored grey trimaran crossed the notional finish line for the Jules Verne Trophy, between the Lizard and Ushant at 1517 local time on Thursday 29 April. Her elapsed time of 63 days 14 hours, 59 minutes and 46 seconds is approximately 18 hours faster than that of the previous Trophy holder, Bruno Peyron in his maxi cat Orange. However, although de Kersauson is now the holder of the Jules VerneTrophy, originally awarded for the fastest outright time sailing round the world, it must be a hollow victory because the Trophy no longer has that cachet since Steve Fossett and his crew on Cheyenne, not members of the Jules Verne ‘club’, broke the outright record earlier in the month and were still almost 5 days faster than Geronimo.

The crew on Geronimo were Olivier de Kersauson , Didier Ragot, Yves Pouillaude, Antoine Deru, Philippe Laot, Pascal Blouin, Xavier Douin, Pierre Corriveaud, Xavier Briault, Armand Coursaudon, Patrick Ferey.