British quadriplegic yachtsman Geoff Holt MBE has won the coveted title for 2010

The announcement was made at an awards ceremony held at Trinity House, London. Southampton based Geoff (44) became the first quadriplegic to sail across the Atlantic when he sailed into the British Virgin Islands on 7 January 7 2010, overcoming personal adversity and achieving his own impossible dream. It took 28 days to complete the 2,700 mile voyage. Geoff was also the first disabled person to sail solo around Great Britain and has been awarded an MBE for services to disabled sailing.
The other finalists for the YJA Pantaenius Yachtsman of the Year award were Edward Wright. Finn World Champion and double World Cup Winner. Edward is one of the true heavy hitters of the Finn class. This year he took first place in the Rolex Miami OCR , Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia MAPFRE, Mallorca, the North American Championship and the Finn Gold Cup in San Francisco. Lucy MacGregor and team. Ladies World Match Racing Winners. Having gained National, European and World Championship titles and rapidly risen through the ranks to lead the World rankings, Lucy MacGregor and her team are a promising prospect for the future of British sailing.

The trophy was presented by Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, himself a three times winner of the award.

The 2010 YJA Pantaenius Young Sailor of the Year was announced at a separate ceremony held on Saturday 8 January at the Tullett Prebon London International Boat Show. 18 year old Izzy Hamilton from Holsworthy in North Devon was presented with the Award by Match Racing winner Lucy MacGregor.