Three races took place at The Harken-sponsored day at the Fireball nationals on Thursday 23 August

Day five of the Rydon Homes Flying Fifteen National Championship saw race officer David Cunliffe bring the Classic and All Comers fleets into Carrick Roads in the hope of getting the best of the breeze on 23 August.

The fleets managed to get three races in, going some way to redressing the loss of the previous two days.

Both fleets sailed the same course with a ten minute interval between starts. The wind was a fairly consistent Force 2-3, with a major shift towards the end of the first race, and part way through the last race.

The All Comers fleet had three different winners with Steve Goacher, Barry Parkin and Charles Apthorp all taking honours. Overall honours for the day went to Charles Apthorp and Jonathan Clarke with Barry & Sue Parkin coming second and Neil Platt and Jamie Marston third.

Overall Results (after 6 races)

1st NO NAME 3721 Steve Goacher, Phil Evans 20

2nd NO NAME 3630 Barry Parkin, Sue Parkin 34.4

3rd SCRATCH & SNIFF 3711 Alan Bax, Paul Busby 38.4

4th FOURWINDS 3591 Charles Apthorp, Jonathon Clark 39

5th NEW ORDER 3729 Neil Platt, Jamie Marston 40.4

6th MIFFYSOFFILAE 3603 Brett Dingwall, Ben Dingwall 50.7

In the Classic fleet, Mike Jones, David Naylor and Jeremy Arnold all won races. Overall honours for the day went to Stuart Jones and Jennifer Prout, with David Naylor and Norman Christie second and Peter Hogg and Andrew McKee third.

Classics (after 6 races)

1st SQUALL 1155 Stuart Jones, Jennifer Prout 11.7

2nd FLAME 759 Peter Hogg, Andrew McKee 17.4

3rd RESERVOIR D’OG 2663 Jeremy Arnold, Elizabeth Orchard 32.7

4th SANDBAGGER 2562 George Rock-Evans, Martin Rock-Evans 37.7

5th HANGOVER 2645 Mike Jones, Simon Thomas 38.4

6th SPRING SONATA 2620 David Naylor, Norman Christie 41.7