A fleet of 23 Fireballs arrived at Staunton Harold on Sunday 22 September for the Fireball Midland Area Championship.

The highly competitive fleet left the line at the second attempt after an over eager first start. The conditions, clear blue skies and a fresh northerly Force 3 enabled the fleet to enjoy close racing. Race one was won by Kevin Hope and Rob Gardner, followed by Grahame Newton and Mark Stevens who fought off Mark and Simon Maskell to take second and third respectively.

Race two saw the wind build to a gusty Force 4. Jenny Mcleod and Nick Thompson rounded the windward mark in first place after a short, hectic first beat. After an hours racing Jenny Mcleod still held a sizeable lead over Dave Wade and Richard Wagstaff who were followed in third by Kevin and Rob.

The fleet took to the water after a well-earned lunch break in squally conditions for race three. Grahame Newton and Mark Stevens took the early lead, followed by a number of boats all vying for contention. The downwind legs consisted of tight reaches and a number of gybe marks, which at times were rounded by boats six abreast. Jenny and Nick managed to sneak past Grahame and Mark on the last beat to take their second win. Dave and Richard took third.

With both the wind and the tension building, race four finally started under the black flag at the fourth attempt. Kevin and Rob rounded first and pulled out a sizable lead, which they held to take their second win. Andy Foskett and Howard Jones followed in their wake until the gusty Force 5 finally put them in half way down a reach. Dave and Richard also sampled the water at a gybe mark, which allowed Jenny and Nick to take second place and therefore win the event. Simon Bird and Peter Robertson from Blithfield came home in third.

Overall Results

1st 14738, Jenny Mcleod and Nick Thompson, Ogston SC 4 pts

2nd 14780, Kevin Hope and Rob Gardner, Notts County SC 5 pts

3rd 14771, Grahame Newton and Mark Stevens, Staunton Harold SC 8 pts

4th 14809, Dave Wade and Richard Wagstaff, Northampton SC 10 pts

5th 14801, Andy Smith and Mike Smith, Notts County SC 13 pts