A total of 39 teams from six nations attended the 43rd Flying Dutchman cup held at Diessner Sailing Club

A total of 39 teams from six nations including Germany, host, Holland, Austria, Italy, Switzerland and Great Britain attended the 43rd FD cup held on Diessner Sailing Club on Ammersee in Bavaria, Germany.

Scheduled for five races, the first race of the day was abandoned due to very shifty and dying conditions. In race 2 all teams had to cope with large shifts and the race was hotly contested with the local favourites of Schwarz/Kirst GER 87 winning, Dutch visitors Kramer/Geelkerken, NED26, in second and K. Konig/Brack, GER113, in third all exhibiting carbon masts. Tony Lyall and Colin Burns finishing in 15 place. John Berry and Andy Edwards retired and were unable to contest the next race.

The wind increased for the next race the top two remained the same as race one with GER51, Kunze/Seebauer in third. Lyall and Burns finished in 16th place.

The club provided fantastic fayre in the evening after race 2 and 3 including free refreshment for the evening where there was much discussion about the day’s sailing conditions.

Races 4 and 5 were contested on the final day with same wind strength increasing to Force 6 for the final one. Konig/Brack, GER113 after winning the first leg and they never looked like being caught, Schwarz/Kirst, GER87, were second with Kramer/Geelkerken in third. Lyall and Burns capsized just before the leeward mark lying in about 15th place leaving them to record a 29th position. GBR378 made a mistake at the final leeward mark finishing two places behind GBR385.

In race 5 Kramer/Geelkerken, NED26, won from Schwarz/Kirst with Beichl/Mayer GER187, in 3rd Lyall and Burns finished 9th to finish overall a creditable 15th place.

Overall Results

1 GER 87, Hans Peter Schwarz and Roland Kirst

2 NED 26, Enno Kramer and Art Geelkerken

3 GER 187, Stefan Beichl and Thomas Mayer

4 GER 51, Andreas Kunze and Josef Seebauer

5 GER113, Killan Konig and Johannes Brack

6 GER 74, Jurgen Gross and Philipp Schay

15 GBR 385, Tony Lyall and Colin Burns

39 GBR378, John Berry and Andy Edwards