Jeroen Van Cadz and Wilco Stavenuyder clinch 49er open champs 20/7/06

The last three races of the 49er national and open championship at Hayling Island were completed in 12-18 knots making for a little more exiting sailing than the competitors experienced in the early days of the event.

The Dutch team of Jeroen Van Cadz and Wilco Stavenuyder carried on their winning ways with a steady 6,3,2 to win the UK open championship by 17 points from Ian Martin and Ben Mcgrane who take the national title.

Paul Campbell-James and Mark Asquith put in a black flag in the last race and with it lost the chance of the title. Tristen Jaques and Alain Sign take the Youth prize, while Andy Rice and Gareth Edwards the Masters trophy.