The MDL Cadet nationals were held at the Royal Torbay YC from 18-24 August. Fifty-six boats competed in the A fleet and 41 boats in the B fleet, both fleets racing together.

Race one

The race officer set a trapezoid course for the first race on Sunday and got the fleet off at the first attempt in a south-easterly Force 3-4. Those boats that went up the left-hand side gained significantly, with those on the right losing heavily. At the first windward mark Iain Watson/ Ed Thomas (Sacre Bleu) rounded first followed by Toby Harris/Chay Atkins (The Grim Reaper), Pippa Wilson/Charlie Hatfield (White Stuff) and James Hughes/Anna Graves (No Fear). The first reach was very tight and Sam Pearson/Sophie Pearson (Who dares Wins) gained many places by not putting up their spinnaker until nearing the next mark. The second beat saw a number of boats who hadn’t learnt the lesson of the first beat go left, and, who therefore lost places. By the next windward mark Toby Harris had broken clear and stormed home to win. Second went to Iain Watson, with Pippa Wilson third just in front of James Hughes and Simon Lambert/David Brewer (Omega).

Race two

The start sequence was quickly underway after the first race and again the fleet got away first time on the same course. At the gun the ribs and spectator craft were treated to the sight of Pippa Wilson completing a man overboard drill as Charlie Hatfield missed the two straps and vanished over the side! At the first leeward mark Matt Summers/Will Rushden (Genesis) led the fleet with Oliver Gray/Tye Wichard (Pan Galactic G Blaster) second, Simon Lambert third, Iain Watson fourth, followed by Toby Harris and Mark Bartlett/ Zoe Atkins (Dangerous Buoyz). At the next leeward mark Matt Summers still led, with Oliver Gray second and Mark Bartlett in third. Significant gains were observed as Pippa Wilson and James Hughes ploughed their way through the fleet. Matt Summers held on to take the gun with Ian Watson second, Simon Lambert third and Pippa Wilson fourth, just beating Oliver Gray.

Race three

After lunch on the water and the wind picking up, the fleet had the first general recall of the day. The second windward mark found Iain Watson and Pippa Wilson racing very closely, with a good lead over the fleet. The next bunch was led by Sophie Harrison/Jenny Sudell(Stress), with Thomas Makey/James Harley (Point Blank) from the B fleet fourth. Julia Cornah/Oren Richards (Northern Exposure) were fifth and Matt Summers sixth. At the finish line Iain Watson led Pippa Wilson home. Thomas Makey posted a brilliant third with Toby Harris fourth and Sophie Harrison fifth.

Race four (day two)

Listless conditions and variable winds greeted sailors on day two, with races four and five scheduled to comprise the day’s races. After a three and a half hour wait lunch on the water, race four finally commenced with a general recall and seven top contenders being black-flagged. The fleet finally got away with those going up the right-hand side of the course gaining a substantial lead at the windward mark. The lead boats here were David EllisJames Wall (Crème de la Crème) Stephen VideloOliver Pollard (Forty Two) (B Fleet) and Richard MossKatherine Bartlett B Fleet (Sail on the Wild Side). The variable winds gave several boats the opportunity to regain creditable positions with Iain Watson gaining pole position at the penultimate mark followed by David Ellis, Julia CornahOren Richards (Northern Exposure) and Laura Wade/Harry Harris (Executrix). The wind finally filled in providing the lead boats with excellent sailing to the finish, giving David Ellis his first win of the championship, followed by Iain Watson, Pippa Wilson and Chris D ArcyEdward Impey (Pontoon) fourth.

Race five

Race five got quickly underway in superb conditions, a clean 12-15 knot wind from the south-east. A clean start saw James Hughes with Simon Lambert getting clear air at the win