The finalists for the Yachting Journalists' Association Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year Awards 2003 have been announced

Leading British yachtsmen from the world of power and sail have been short-listed for this year’s prestigious Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year and Young Sailor of the Year Awards.

Short-listed for the Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year are 5-times Class 1 World Powerboat Champion Steve Curtis, hot Olympic hopefuls Chris Draper and Simon Hiscocks, and solo circumnavigator Emma Richards.

The Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year nominees are 15-year-old Hannah Mills – Britain’s top Optimist sailor, solo transatlantic sailor Sebastian Clover also 15, 420 Champions Luke Patience, Adam Wagner, aged 17, and 16 year-old Laser Sailor Campbell Davidson.

The finalists now go forward to a vote by members of the 300 strong Yachting Journalists’ Association.

The winners will be announced at 1200 Noon on Thursday 8 January at the Schroder’s 50th London International Boat Show at ExCel (Inland Waterway central stage, North Hall). British round the world yachtswoman Tracy Edwards MBE, who won the coveted Yachtsman of the Year Award in 1989, will present the trophies.