Royal Bermuda Yacht Club names skippers for forthcoming Bermuda Gold Cup

The Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (RBYC) has announced the skippers who will compete in the Bermuda Gold Cup to be held 12-20 October – the fourth of nine events on Swedish Match Tour 2002/3. The winner of the Bermuda Gold Cup will receive the King Edward VII Trophy and a share of the 65,000 US Dollar prize purse.

As one of the few Grade 1 regattas in the world to offer amateur skippers and up-and-comers a chance to match race against the professionals, the Bermuda Gold Cup regularly produces some of the world’s best skippers. Paul Cayard, Russell Coutts, Peter Gilmour and Gavin Brady have all made their mark on this event and there are scores of young sailors working their way toward future America’s Cup campaigns by gaining valuable experience on the Swedish Match Tour.

The RBYC also named the unseeded skippers who will compete in a qualifying round with the top-finishing eight teams advancing into Round One of the Bermuda Gold Cup.

Seeded skippers

Bjorn Hansen (Sweden)

Jes Gram-Hansen (Denmark)

Karol Jablonski (Poland)

Lars Nordbjerg (Denmark)

Jesper Radich (Denmark)

Steffan Lindberg (Finland)

Mikael Lindqvist (Sweden)

Matthias Rahm (Sweden)

Unseeded skippers

Sally Barkow (USA)

Bill Buckles (USA)

Scott Dickson (USA)

Andy Horton (USA)

Peter Bromby (Bermuda)

Michael Green (St Lucia)

Marten Hedlund (Sweden)

Henrik Jensen (Denmark)

Anthony Kotoun (US Virgin Islands)

Chris Law (UK)

Tucker Thompson (USA)

Mason Woodworth (UK)

Karl Ziegler (USA)

Plus the top two skippers in the Bacardi Cup (September 28-29 in Hamilton Harbour, Bermuda)

Women’s event

The Bermuda International Women’s Match Racing Championship will serve as a unique qualifying round to the Bermuda Gold Cup, with the winner and runner-up advancing to Round One.

Bermuda International Women’s Match Racing Championship skippers

Elizabeth Baylis (USA)

Marie Bjorling (Sweden)

Sandy Hayes (USA)

Elizabeth Kratzig (USA)

Paula Lewin (Bermuda)

Lotte Pedersen (Denmark)

Deborah Willist (USA)

Klarrtje Zuiderbaan (The Netherlands)