Ben Ainslie and Ian Williams lead two groups at the King Edward VII Gold Cup

With only one match remaining in the Round Robin, Ben Ainslie’s (GBR) Team Origin, Ian Williams’ (GBR) Team Pindar, and Johnie Berntsson’s (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team are the only three teams of 24 which have qualified for the next Quarter-Final stage at the King Edward VII Gold Cup presented by Argo Group.

The top two teams from each group move on to the Quarter finals and the third and fourth place finishers in each group sail off in a “Repechage” round robin this afternoon (9 October) for their second chance to win one of the last two Quarter final slots. Following the Quarter-finals on Friday, winners move into the Semi-Finals on Saturday and the top two go to the Finals on Sunday. There is a $100,000 prize purse with $50,000 going to the winner, $20,000 for second and $10,000 for third. Fourth through eighth divide the remainder.

Among those in contention are the three French teams – Mathieu Richard’s French Match Racing Team/Team French Spirit, Sebastien Col’s French Match Racing Team/K Challenge, and Damien Iehl’s French Match Racing Team – as well as Andrew Horton (USA), Keith Swinton (AUS), and Adam Minoprio (NZL) and his Emirates Team New Zealand/BlackMatch Racing Team.

Amongst the leaders, Ainslie’s record remained unblemished at 6-0 despite tough matches against Rahm and Brian Angel (USA). This is Ainslie’s first match racing event since his gold medal winning Olympic campaign.

Current results, after six flights:


Ben Ainslie (GBR) Team Origin, 6-0

Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team/Team French Spirit, 5-1

Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team, 5-1

Mattias Rahm (SWE) Stena Bulk Sailing Team, 3-3

Chris Van Tol (USA) Van Tol Match Racing Team, 2-4

Takumi Nakamura (JPN) Team Albatross, 1-2

Brian Angel (USA) King Harbour Yacht Club, 1-5

Sally Barkow (USA) Team 7 Racing, 1-5


Ian Williams (GBR) Team Pindar, 5-0

Adam Minoprio (NZL) Emirates Team New Zealand/BlackMatch Racing Team, 4-2

Keith Swinton (USA) Black Swan Racing, 4-2

Andrew Horten (USA), 4-1

Rasmus Viltoft (DEN), 3-3

Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Alandia Sailing Team, 2-4

Erik Koppernaes (CAN), 1-5

Jon Singsen (USA), 0-6


Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team, 5-1

Sebastien Col (FRA) French Match Racing Team/K Challenge, 4-2

Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team, 3-3

Donald Wilson (USA), 3-3

David Perry (USA), 3-3

Pierre Antoine Morvan (FRA) ETM Match Racing, 2-4

Eric Monnin (SUI), 2-4

Blythe Walker (BDA), 2-4

For more information, visit .