It's time to nominate your choice for the Yachtsman of the Year award

It’s time to nominate your candidate for this year’s Raymarine/Yachting Journalists’ Association Yachtsman of the Year Award and the Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year Award.

The nominations will be shortlisted later in the year and are voted on by members of the YJA and given the presentation at an awards ceremony in London in January. The current holders are Dee Caffari and teenager Katie Miller.

The Yachtsman of the Year award generally recognises a record, a major race win, a feat overcoming adversity, or something that demonstrated exceptional bravery and courage.

Previous holders since the first award in 1955 include Eric Hiscock, Adlard Coles, Rodney Pattison, Pete Goss, Robin Knox-Johnston, Ellen MacArthur and Ben Ainslie.

You can make your nomination online at or