Mike Sanderson and his team onboard ABN AMRO ONE has won the second Volvo Ocean Race inshore points race in Cape Town

Wild and windy was the order of the day in Table Bay for the seven Volvo Open 70s taking part in the second in-port race of the Volvo Ocean Race 2005-06. After two and a half hours and buckets of water washed over the deck, it was Mike Sanderson and his team onboard ABN AMRO ONE that took the race victory.

The ‘Cape Doctor’ delivered a dose of its usual medicine and as the race got underway at 1300 (local time) there was a steady 25 knot south-easterly blowing which would guarantee some exciting racing and close jostling between the teams.

Brasil 1, skippered by Torben Grael, won the start but it was not long until ABN AMRO ONE powered through and led the fleet to the first windward mark. Whilst there was serious swapping of places throughout the fleet, Sanderson and his crew on ABN AMRO ONE rounded the windward mark in first place and never looked back. They extended their lead all the way around the course which took them past the Victoria & Albert Waterfront, alongside Milnerton Beach and across Table Bay, eventually winning the race comfortably by over seven minutes.

The Spanish entry Movistar under the guidance of Bouwe Bekking (NED) sailed a good race working her way through the fleet from fifth place to eventually crossing the line second in front of ABN AMRO TWO.

TEAM ABN AMRO have done the double in Cape Town – they were first into the South African port after the 6,400 nm offshore leg from Spain and have now won the inshore race as well. This means that they maintain their overall lead in the Volvo Ocean Race 2005-06.

Results (provisional)

1st TEAM ABN AMRO ONE, Mike Sanderson (NZL)

2nd Movistar, Bouwe Bekking (NED)

3rd TEAM ABN AMRO TWO, Sebastien Josse (FRA)

4th Brasil 1, Torben Grael (BRA)

5th Pirates of the Caribbean, Paul Cayard (USA)

6th Ericsson Racing Team Neal McDonald (GBR)

7th ING Real Estate Brunel, Grant Wharington/Barney Walker (AUS)