After the final RORC race of the year, school boat Puma Logic came 2nd in the Cherbourg Race to take 1st overall in the RORC series. Jo 'Wombat' Cackett reports after the RORC prize-giving

ThePuma Logiccrew onboard the Reflex 38 screamed down the phone at me at 0300 on Saturday 17 September after racing from Cowes to Cherbourg in only 9h 22m 55s on corrected time, and placing 2nd.

Supporting the team onshore this time from the Southampton Boat Show, as soon as I heard the news I knewPuma Logichad won 1st overall in IRC Class 1 of the RORC series – the Emily Verger Plate. To win the trophy,Puma Logicneeded only a 4th after successes in the RORC races which includes a 1st in IRC 1 of the Channel Race as well as 1st in IRC 1b, 3rd in IRC 1, 1st in Reflex 38 class and winner of the School Boat Trophy in the Rolex Fastnet Race – with their final number of points in the series totalling 488.

Skipper Philippe Falle was ecstatic: “We were flying, at one point we were doing 18.2kts in 38.5kts of wind!”

For a crew that only started sailing together in April this year, to finish on top in the overall RORC series is an incredible achievement. Fastnet crewmember Jon Regan was onboardPuma Logicfor the Cherbourg Race along with some of the inshore and offshore race team. He said: “It was a brilliant way to end the year, going downwind in such strong winds was hair-raising but exciting. We were all sitting on the transom to keep the weight aft.”

Second in the series was the IMX 40Maverick 2, skippered by Dominic Chappell, with a total of 477 points. They were a hot contender for the trophy having won the Ouistreham Race, Cowes – Dinard – St Malo, Myth of Malham and De Guingand Bowl race. Behind them was another IMX 40Meta Baronwith 431.5 points.

Puma Logichas also won the David Fayle Memorial Cup for best Sailing School yacht in IRC overall, which is a real honour for Sailing Logic racing.

The Fastnet and Cherbourg Race medal prize-giving at the Royal Ocean Racing Club in London last night was a celebratory event. Annual awards were also announced withBerrimillawinning The Seamanship Trophy. The Australian double-handed sailors completed the Rolex Sydney-Hobart Race 2004, and the Rolex Fastnet Race 2005 in their Brolga 33, and are currently sailing back in hope of participating in the Sydney-Hobart once again. They came 8th in IRC Class 3 of the Rolex Fastnet Race, a staggering 11th in IRC overall and 2nd in the double-handed.

The Yacht of the Year 2005 was also announced as the Ker 55Aeraowned by Nick Lykiardopulo. He takes the Somerset Memorial Trophy forAera’soutstanding achievement winning the overall handicap trophy.

Prizes, and other RORC Annual awards, will be presented at the AGM and Annual Prize Giving Dinner at Draper’s Hall on 22nd November.

RORC Annual Challenge Trophies & Special Awards

2005 YACHT OF THE YEAR winning the SOMERSET MEMORIAL TROPHYfor outstanding racing achievement
AERA, (Ker 55) Nik Lykiardopulo

For the yacht with the most RORC points in IRC overall in the Cherbourg Race plus her best three races taken from Cervantes, Morgan Cup, Myth of Malham and Cowes-Dinard-St Malo races
FIDESSA FASTWAVE, (DK 46) Chris Brown/Peter Harding

For consistent high performance in IRC. Based on consistent high scores plus a bonus for the number of races completed
FIDESSA FASTWAVE, (DK 46) Chris Brown/Peter Harding

Class Championship Trophies

IRM 1: Trenchemer Challenge Cup
HOOLIGAN, (Max Fun 35) Edward Broadway

IRC Super Zero: Europeans Trophy
BEAR OF BRITAIN, (Farr 52) Kit Hobday

IRC 0: Illingworth Cup E
XABYTE III, (IMX 45) Shaun Fröhlich

IRC 1: Emily Verger Plate
PUMA LOGIC, (Reflex 38) Sailing Logic, Philippe Falle

IRC 2: Grenade Goblet
NIGHT AND DAY, (J 105) Pascal Loison

IRC 3: Cowland Trophy
IROMIGUY, (Nicholson 33) Jean-Yves Chateau

IRC overall: Jazz Trophy
FIDESSA FASTWAVE, (DK 46) Chris Brown/Peter Harding

2 Handed Division: Psipsina Trophy
SLINGSHOT, (J 105) Shaun Murphy

Multihulls: Shambles Salver
TANCREDE, (Normanni 34) Joel Malardel

Sigma 38: Oldland/Watts Aquadanca Trophy
VITESSE, (Sigma 38) Geoff Simcox/RobinTaunt/Jon England

Special Awards

DAVID FAYLE MEMORIAL CUPfor best Sailing School yacht in IRC
PUMA LOGIC, (Reflex 38) Sailing Logic, Philippe Falle

HAYLOCK CUPfor best British Service yacht in IRC
REDCOAT, (Sigma 38) Royal Military Academy Sandhurst

Best Elapsed time in Morgan Cup, Cowes-St Malo, Cherbourg races and Red Funnel Easter Challenge
FIDESSA FASTWAVE, (DK 46) Chris Brown/Peter Harding

Consistent high performance in the IRM Association’s offshore programme
HOOLIGAN, (Max Fun 35) Edward Broadway

SERENDIP TROPHYfor best series-produced yacht in IRC
FIDESSA FASTWAVE, (DK 46) Chris Brown/Peter Harding

DENNIS P MILLER MEMORIAL TROPHYfor outstanding performance by a British yacht overseas
AERA, (Ker 55) Nik Lykiardopulo

FREDDIE MORGAN TROPHYfor a Classic yacht in IRC
WINSOME, (S&S 41) Harry Heijst

THE PERA AWARDMay be given to yachts, which receive redress, for rendering assistance during a race
ADELAIDE STAR (Bavaria 44) Stuart Cooper

STRADIVARIUS TROPHYfor the best overseas yacht in IRC
ENIGMA OF LONDON (Reichel/Pugh 76) Charles Dunstone

DUNCAN MUNRO-KERR YOUTH CHALLENGE TROPHYfor the youngest crew member on board a yacht which on season’s points finishes in the top three of her IRC class
FRED PARKINSON sailing on EL SYD (BH 41)

SEAMANSHIP TROPHYfor an outstanding act of seamanship
BERRIMILLA, (Brolga 33) Alex Whitworth/Peter Crozier

MURKA 2, (Swan 45) Misha Mouratov