German team win third annual bareboat championship at Antigua Sailing Week

Today’s third annual Bareboat Championship Race (BCR) for the top three in each of the six bareboat classes saw Hans Petersohn and his crew onboard the Sun Fast 37 Ora emerge victorious in the three-hour race. Having already won Bareboat V and the overall fleet prize, Petersohn managed to block Seabiscuit’s hat trick with a BCR victory also. Ora was second to Seabiscuit in class.

Thirteen yachts made it to the start line in an 8-knot breeze. Last year’s winner, Phil Otis sailing BVI Yacht Charters/HIHO, and Jasmin did not finish.

Prize giving this afternoon and the Lord Nelson’s Ball this evening will conclude the 38th annual Antigua Sailing Week.

2005 Bareboat Championship Race Results

1 Ora, Sun Fast 37, Hans Petersohn, Germany

2 Seabiscuit, Beneteau 44, Pat Nolan, British Virgin Islands

3 Fifty Feet Ahead, Dufour 50, Pereric Berggren, Sweden