David Glenn has been awarded the Desmond Wettern Media Award for his journalistic contribution to maritime issues

Yachting World editor David Glenn has won the Maritime
Foundation’s Desmond Wettern Media Award. The presentation was made by the
First Sea Lord and Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC at
an event at the Institute of Directors in London.

The award is made to the ‘writer, broadcaster, academic or
other person who has made the most constructive contribution to generating
public awareness of the United Kingdom’s current maritime issues’ and was
created to commemorate the work of Desmond Wettern, the Daily Telegraph’s naval
correspondent who died in 1991.

The purpose of the Maritime Foundation is to promote
awareness of Britain’s dependence on the sea and Wettern believed that the
United Kingdom’s economic well-being and security were inextricably bound up
with the sea.

In describing what the foundation regarded as David’s
‘outstanding lifetime achievement in providing the best and most up to date
yachting news’ the award judges said: “The magazine is always visually
attractive, accessible and informative. It maintains a heightened interest,
balancing cutting edge excitement generated by racing and extreme feats of
endurance, with cruising, tactical tips and yacht reviews, while always giving
practical and knowledgeable guidance”.

David said: “I think that sums us up very well! I am
extremely honoured to have won this prestigious award.”

Other award winners were: Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and
Keo Films for the Channel 4 television series Hugh’s Fish Fight (Donald Gosling
Broadcast Award); Rose George for her book Deep Sea and Foreign Going (Mountbatten Maritime Award); Andrew
Linington, editor of Nautilus Telegraph (Maritime Fellowship Award) and the
Type-23 frigate HMS Monmouth (Desmond Wettern Fleet Award for the best media
contribution from a naval ship, submarine, RN air squadron or Royal Marine

Some examples of the keynote films made for each year’s Maritime
Foundation Media Awards awards can be seen here: