Big turnout at the recent Wilsonian Sailing Club Winter Series

Although 55 boats signed-on for Wilsonian’s Winter Open Series, regrettably it was light airs for 10 of the races in the 13 race series, making racing more a test of endurance than sailing. In the two opening races a blustery force 5 southerly kept most competitors ashore with just eight venturing out, however it was seven of these that ended up with the prizes. The series ended with a Force 2 westerly, but by then all the top prizes had been determined.

Tony Hunt/David Bourne/Suzanne Hall, sailing a prototype 3000, comfortably won the Long Course event with six firsts and a second to count. However, Stuart Bailey/Hannah Packman (Buzz) was close second, beating Hunt on three occasions and adding four seconds. Ian Parris/Ian Foxwell won the RS 800 contest with Simon Conway/Sam Proctor for third prize. While Tim Kift/Matthew Love (Osprey) moved up to fourth spot as Grahame Smith decided to swap his Laser Vortex for a Musto Skiff after eight races.

Similarly, Neil Lamprell (Phantom) lifted the Medium Course Trophy with ease, winning five and second in two. Though Brian Lamb/Brian Warwick (Wayfarer) did keep up the pressure all the way to take runners-up prize. Roy Winnett/Geoff Lambert (Laser 2000) did enough to secure third slot with Martin Vinton (Laser) fourth and John Parsons/Bryan Dunmall (Laser 2000) fifth.

Peter Horner/David Brooker (Miracle) had the enviable distinction of having to discard a first place in their victory in the Lapping Course. While second placed Lesley O’Rourke/Paul Rodgers (Miracle) had two firsts and five seconds to count and Stephanie Wicken (Topper) showed determination to collect the third prize

Overall Results

Long Course

1st 3000 Tony Hunt/Suzanne Hall (Wilsonian SC)

2nd Buzz Stuart Bailey/Hannah Packman (Medway YC)

3rd RS 800 Ian Parris/Ian Foxwell (Wilsonian SC)

4th Osprey Tim Kift/Matthew Love (Wilsonian SC)

5th Laser Vortex Grahame Smith (Wilsonian SC) 6th RS 800 Simon Conway/Sam Proctor (Wilsonian SC)

Medium Course

1st Phantom Neil Lamprell (Wilsonian SC)

2nd Wayfarer Brian Lamb/Brian Warwick (Wilsonian SC)

3rd Laser 2000 Roy Winnett/Geoff Lambert (Wilsonian SC)

4th Laser Martin Vinton (Wilsonian SC)

5th Laser 2000 John Parsons/Bryan Dunmall (Wilsonian SC)

6th Laser 2000 Nik Antoniades/Gerald Smith (Wilsonian SC)

Lapping Course

1st Miracle Peter Horner/David Brooker (Wilsonian SC)

2nd Miracle Lesley O’Rourke/Paul Rodgers (Wilsonian SC)

3rd Topper Stephanie Wicken (Wilsonian SC)