Lymington Town Sailing Club hosted three championships last weekend

Lymington Town Sailing Club hosted three championships last weekend (26-27 June 2004) the national championship for both the Laser Stratos and Wanderer classes and the southern area championship of the Wayfarer class. At the end the club had gained one national champion and a runner up.

The weather co-operated, especially with those who like it heavy, by providing conditions which varied between a strong and gusty wind coming off the Isle-of-Wight to a full Force 7 blowing straight down the Solent.

In the Laser Stratos class, a design which can have either a centreboard or a weighted keel, the keel versions did especially well, taking three of the top 6 places. Local knowledge was also an advantage as Lymington Town members took three of the top four places. The new national champions are Mike Beggs and Julian Entwisle of LTSC while Lymington Town commodore Simon Ward, borrowed both boat and crew Amanda Eastwood and came second.

In the Wayfarer class Hayling Island S.C. member and boat builder Ian Porter and Kevan Gibb trounced the field with wins in every race with Parkstone’s Colin May and Paul Frey second. Against such tough competition local boats were reticent, only four competing in the field of 19, with first local boat of John Morrow and Jason Crane coming in sixth-a particularly good performance from an old but beautifully restored boat.

In the Wanderer fleet, also of 19 dinghies, racing was much closer with any of the top three likely to win right up to the last race. Overall winners Gavin Barr and Mark Skipper clinched the championship by winning the last race as the wind rose to Force 7 and the added navigational hazard of upturned Wayfarers enlivened the screaming reach into the river to finish on the LTSC Club line.


Laser Stratos National Championships

1, Red Devil 161, Mike Beggs and Julian Entwisle, Lymington Town S.C.

2, Ecky Thump 595 Simon Ward and Amanda Eastwood, Lymington Town S.C.

3, Stratovarious 302 Brian George and Ian Vince, Dabchicks S.C.

4, 624 Tim and Serena Davis, Limington Town S.C.

5, Stratos Fear 296, Doug and Chris and Michael Rivers, Leigh on Sea S.C.

Wanderer National Championships

1, Thistle 1282 Gavin Barr and Mark Skipper

2, Giverney 1087 Jack Mann and Adam Wickenden

3, E=MC2 1134 Mike and James Clayton

Wayfarer Southern Area Championships

1, Outlaw, 10388 Ian Porter and Kevan Gibb Hayling Island S.C

2, Watery Moments 9068 Colin May and Paul Frey Parkstone Y.C.

3, Echo, 8888 Graham and Robin Barker Norfolk Broads Y.C.

4, 1020 Dan Wealthy and Rob Broad Warsash S.C.

5, Flash Harry 7557 Mike Jeffries and Doug Kerr, Oxford S.C.

6, Twilight 1007 John Morrow and Jason Crane, Lymington Town S.C.