Kiwi Sutherland heads the scoreboard at Warren Jones Youth Regatta 31/1/06

Graeme Sutherland of the Royal Akarana Yacht Club in Auckland has emerged as the leader after the second day of the Warren Jones Youth Regatta, on the Swan River.

The Kiwi skipper, who was until recently with the French K-Challenge America’s Cup team, put in a strong performance, chalking up six wins, and just one loss, on a day when the seabreeze built to over 20 knots.

Behind him three skippers share second place, indicating just what a tight and tough event this is becoming.

England’s Ali Hall, local skipper Keith Swinton and Sydneysider Seve Jarvin all have 8 – 3 scorelines, as the series moves into the start of the second round robin.

Another local skipper, Torvar Mirsky of Fremantle Sailing Club, has 8 wins from 12 races, while the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s Simon Minoprio is on 7 wins and 4 losses.

Minoprio, who appears to be on the comeback trail, after a poor first day commented, “it was a lot better day today, I think we’re just used to sailing the boats more than we were yesterday, and our crew work was a lot slicker.”

Keith Swinton, who was the overnight leader after the first day, was disappointed with his results on the second day, “not too bad, but not too good,” was his summary.

“I just had a talk with the guys, and we decided we’ve just got to sharpen up a bit,” he confessed, “we’re looking forward to it tomorrow.”

Racing started in a light and fickle easterly breeze, but after the first flight of races, the seabreeze started to establish itself, and by midday was a healthy 15 knots, which continued to build through the afternoon.

By the end of the day, the Foundation 36s, used for the series, were carrying one reef, and spinnakers were becoming a dubious asset.

The regatta, in memory of Warren Jones, the mastermind of Australia’s 1983 victory in the America’s Cup, is being hosted by the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club.

Results (after 18 flights of 34)

1 Graeme Sutherland NZL

2 equal Alastair Hall

2 equal Keith Swinton AUS

2 equal Seve Jarvin AUS

5 Torvar Mirsky AUS

6 Simon Minoprio NZL

7 Murray Gordon AUS

8 equal Alexis Littoz-Baritel FRA

8 equal Robert Gibbs AUS

10 Mark Dorling AUS

11 Tom Barker AUS

12 Rob Scrivenor AUS