30 Fireballs contested Round 3 of the Typhoon sponsored event

Shoreham Sailing Club once again delivered almost perfect sailing conditions for the 30 Fireballs that contested Round 3 of the Typhoon sponsored Super Series over the weekend of 26- 27 June 2004.

After launching the fleet sailed out to sea to enjoy 18 knot breezes and fantastic wave conditions in which the Fireball excels. The 4 race series was held over a trapezoid course which provided some awesome downwind legs in the fruity conditions.

After a three year absence from the class, 1997 and 2000 World Champion DJ Edwards made a successful comeback to win the meeting. Reunited with his former crew, Vyv Townend, he won the first three races.

However, the former champions did not have it all their own way. The current boys on the pace, Dave Wade and Richard Wagstaff, pushed them hard. There was quite a battle between these two boats all weekend with the lead of the races constantly being traded. Wade and Wagstaff’s downwind work was honed and slick while Edwards and Townend were a tad rusty, however, they had just enough of an edge upwind to compensate for their wobbles downwind.

A special perseverance prize was awarded to Tom Foskett and Tim Needham from Staunton Harold SC. Aged 16, they coped extremely well in the challenging conditions to finish a creditable 20th place.

Overall results:

1st 14830 D J Edwards and Vyv Townend (Hayling Island SC) 3 pts

2nd 14809 Dave Wade and Richard Wagstaff (Northampton SC) 5 pts

3rd 14870 Vince Horey and Gavin Tillson (Fishers Green SC) 9 pts

4th 14789 Penny and Ian Gibbs (Brightlingsea SC) 15 pts

5th 14725 Adam Whitehouse and Rosco Hayes (Chelmarsh SC) 15 pts

6th Ian Fryett and Jon Bale (Chew Valley SC) 16 pts

1st Silver Fleet: Brett and Heidi Cokayne (Staunton Harold SC)

1st Bronze Fleet: Dave & Karen Festing (Shoreham SC)

1st Classic Boat: Nick Cameron & Caroline Still (Draycote Water SC)