Almost 70 entries sign up for Rolex Sydney Hobart Race with two days to go 1/11/06

So far an outstanding fleet of almost 70 yachts has been nominated for this year’s Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race with only three days to go until the close of applications to enter.

The fleet will represent the UK, New Zealand, Italy, Canada, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania, Queensland and the ACT.

The only state so far not represented on the entry list is South Australia and the challenge has gone out from the organising Club for representatives from that state to submit an entry.

Recent applicants include the three 30 metre maxis, Charles St Clair Brown and Bill Buckley’s New Zealand maxi Maximus, Grant Wharington’s 2003 line honours winner Skandia and the defending handicap and line honours winner and race record holder, Wild Oats XI (Bob Oatley).

Mike Sanderson’s Volvo 70 ABN Amro One has been nominated as have three of the classics – Mike Freebairn’s 1968 overall winner of the Rolex Sydney Hobart, Koomooloo; eighty four year old John Walker and his IOR three quarter tonner Impeccable, which is lining up for its 22nd race south for both boat and owner, and Maurie Cameron’s Phillip’s Foote Witchdoctor, which this year will pass Mark Twain’s previous record for the most Rolex Sydney Hobarts undertaken by a boat, 25.

The smallest canting keel boat planning to race south, Andrew Buckland and Andrew Hunn’s Mr Kite 40 has been nominated for its debut Rolex Sydney Hobart as has the first Italian entry for many years, a Swan 45 called DSK Comifin to be skippered by Danilo Salsi.

Applications to enter must be submitted to the CYCA Sailing Office by 1700 this Friday, 3 November 2006.