The leaders of the five divisions remain unchanged

After two days of racing the leaders of the five classifications remain unchanged: Jean Charles’ Decaux’s J One (GBR) in the Wally division; Patrizio Bertelli’s Luna Rossa (ITA) in the Mini Maxi Racing; Michael Cotter’s Whisper (IRL) in Mini Maxi Cruising/Racing; Filippo Faruffini’s Roma – Aniene (ITA) in Racing/Cruising; and Velsheda (GBR) in the Cruising/Spirit of Tradition division.

The various divisions in the 42 boat fleet were assigned two different courses (of 39 and 47 miles) in 15 – 20 knots of north-easterly wind and choppy seas.

Claus Peter Offen’s Y3K (GER) took corrected time victory in the Wally division in today’s race, followed by J One and Thomas Bscher’s Open Season (GER). Luna Rossa, who took her second bullet today and has VOR veteran Torben Grael (BRA) aboard, was followed in the Mini Maxi Racing division (pictured) by Niklas Zennstrom’s Ran (GBR) and the American team aboard Bella Mente, owned by Hap Fauth (Newport, R.I.). Whisper also took her second bullet in the Mini Maxi Racing/Cruising division followed by Brian Benjamin’s Aegir (GBR) and H20, owned by Riccardo De Michele (ITA).

The Racing/Cruising division saw both Roma – Aniene, with Vasco Vascotto calling tactics, and Danilo Salsi’s DSK (ITA) repeat yesterday’s performances, arriving first and second, respectively, with Varsovie (CAY) in third. The Spirit of Tradition division saw the classic J Class yacht Velsheda (GBR) continue her domination, finishing ahead of Hetairos (CAY) and Visione (GER) . Karl Kwok’s Beau Geste (HKG), a true racing yacht, was the fastest yacht around the 39 mile course with a time of 2 hours and 55 minutes.

For more about the Cup – including entry lists and results – visit .