Gold medals for Robert Scheidt in Star class and Fernando Echavarri in Tornados 10/7/07

Consistently high winds sweeping through the Bay of Cascais have forced the cancellation of the final day’s racing for the Star and Tornado fleet which means the first ISAF Sailing World Champions have been crowned.

In the Star class, Brazilians Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada took the gold, and Spaniards Fernando Echevarri and Anton Paz won the Tornado class.

Frenchmen Xavier Rohart anad Pascal Rambeau were second in the Star fleet and Britain’s Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson finished in third.

While the race organisers attempted a start for the Stars and then abandoned, the Tornado fleet remained on the beach leaving Echevarri and Paz the new champions followed by Carolijn Brouwer and Sebastien Godefroid, of Belgium, and Mitch Booth and Pim Nieuwenhuis, of Holland. The British pairing of Leigh McMillan and Will Howden retaining fifth place.

Chatting about their bronze medal at their first World Championship outing together British Star sailor Percy explained: “It was a bit frustrating that we didn’t have the chance to improve our position out there today, but we’ve got to be pleased with bronze given the short time we’ve had since finishing the Cup.
“It’s a stepping stone for us on the road to the Olympics and we’ve proven we’re up there with the rest of them – with a bit more practice time we’ll be making the top step.”
Event organisers will be hoping for improved conditions on todayin order to get the race schedule back on track.  European Champion Paul Goodison, currently in seventh will be looking to fight back into the podium spots in the Laser class in their medal race, while Charlotte Dobson is in the same position in the women’s equivalent, the Laser Radial.
The Yngling and Finn classes will see their penultimate day of racing – Sarah Ayton, Sarah Webb and Pippa Wilson are currently leading the pack in the Yngling class, with Ed Wright in fifth looking to get back into the medal spots ahead of their final medal race on Wednesday.
Defending 49er world champions Chris Draper and Simon Hiscocks will be itching to get out on the race course today – their fleet is three races behind schedule, so they will be hoping to make up some ground.
Racing at the ISAF World Sailing Championships in Cascais, Portugal, continues through until Friday 13 July.

Results (Monday 9 July)
Tornado (FINAL)
1. Fernando Echavarri-Anton Paz, Esp (34pts)
2. Carolijn Brouwer- Sebastien Godefroid, Bel (40pts)
3. Mitch Booth-Pim Nieuwenhuis, Ned (41pts)
Selected GBR
5. Leigh McMillan-Will Howden (69pts)
Star (FINAL)
1.Robert Scheidt-Bruno Prada, Bra (15pts)
2. Xavier Rohart-Pascal Rambeau, Fra (19pts)
3. Iain Percy-Andrew Simpson, GBR (25pts)
Laser (after 8 races)
1. Tom Slingsby, Aus (31pts)
2. Mate Arapov, Cro (43pts)
3. Deniss Karpak, Est (45pts)
Selected GBR
7. Paul Goodison (56pts)
Laser Radial (after 8 races)
1. Petra Niemann, Ger (37pts)
2. Tania Elias Calles Wolf, Mex (39pts)
3. Nufar Edelmann, Isr (39pts)
Selected GBR
7. Charlotte Dobson (49pts)
RS:X Men (after 5 races)
1.Prezmyslaw Miarczynski, Pol (4pts)
2. Ricardo Santos, Bra (7pts)
3. Pietr Myska, Pol, (7pts)
Selected GBR
4. Nick Dempsey (11pts)
RS:X Women (after 5 races)
1. Zofia Klepacka, Pol (6pts)
2. Lise Vidal, Fra (12pts)
3. Alessandra Sensini, Ita (14pts)
Selected GBR
11. Bryony Shaw (21pts)
470 Men (after 4 races)
1.Nathan Wilmot-Malcolm Page, Aus (11pts)
2. Stuart McNay-Graham Biehl, USA (21pts)
3. Francisco Sanchez-Alejandro Ramos, Esp (22pts)
Selected GBR
12. Nic Asher-Elliot Willis (37pts)
24. Nick Rogers-Joe Glanfield (48pts)
470 Women (after 4 races)
1.Marcelien de Koning-Lobke Berkhout, Ned (9pts)
2. Giul Conti-Giovanna Micol, Ita (14pts)
3. Therese Thorgensson-Vendela Zachreisson, Swe (14pts)
Selected GBR
6. Christina Bassadone-Saskia Clark (24pts)
49er (after 4 races)
1. Stevie Morrison-Ben Rhodes, GBR (5pts)
2. Morgan Lagraviere-Stephane Christidis, Fra (13pts)
3. Rodion Luka-Georgiy Leonchuk, Ukr (13pts)
Selected GBR
9. Paul Campbell James-Mark Asquith (17pts)
19. Chris Draper-Simon Hiscocks (25pts)