The trophy recognises the outstanding contribution, commitment, or achievement of women in sailing

Nominations are now open for the coveted Ladies Day Trophy, to be presented on the 11th August at the Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week.

The Ladies Day Trophy recognises the achievements and contribution of women in sailing across the board – from the amateur sailor and those overcoming difficulties in order to succeed in sailing, to those who have undertaken remarkable challenges or encouraged others into the sport. Ladies Day 2015 has been sponsored by the Isle of Wight beauty brand, Liz Earle Naturally Active.

Ladies Day will return to Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week on Tuesday 11th August with a number of celebrations culminating in the presentation of the Ladies Day Trophy at an exclusive evening reception.

The trophy was introduced for the first time in 2006 to champion the role of women in sailing and the sheer number of female competitors racing at Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week.  There are some 8,000 competitors taking part in the regatta and around a third of them are female.

Sailing is one of the few mainstream sporting events where men and women can compete on equal terms and the strength of female competitors has grown with a 150% increase in female skippers over the last decade.

In 2014 British Yachtswoman Dee Caffari was the ninth deserving winner of the Ladies Day Trophy in recognition of her phenomenal achievements, including being the only woman to sail non-stop around the world 3 times, as well as her tireless enthusiasm and promotion of the sport and associated charities.

Previous winner’s of the Ladies Day trophy have included Betty Moore (2006), Gavia Wilkinson-Cox (2007), Kerry Gruson (2008), Sam Davies (2009), Louise Morton (2010), Tina Scott (2011), Annie O’Sullivan (2012), Helena Lucas (2013) and Dee Caffari (2014)

To ensure that your chosen female sailor is in with a chance of winning the 2015 trophy please nominate her at the event website

Nominations close at midnight on Monday 27th July, 2015.

The process is simple and anyone can nominate a female competitor at the regatta, past or present. Female competitors may even nominate themselves or a crew member for their outstanding contribution, commitment, or achievement in sailing in general terms.

The only thing to remember is that the nominated individual needs to have competed at the regatta in recent years, and be available to attend the Ladies Day reception on Tuesday 11th August where the Trophy will be awarded.

A judging panel consisting of Tina Jennings – Head of People & Development at Liz Earle, Elaine Bunting – Editor of Yachting World, Jill Maxwell – Aberdeen Asset Management’s Head of Sponsorship & Corporate Events and Kate Johnson – Commercial & Marketing Director at Cowes Week Ltd, along with several previous Ladies Day winners, will determine the 2015 winner.

In addition to the prizegiving, there are a variety of fun and celebratory activities on and off the water including:

  • Best Dressed competition – Ladies ashore are encouraged to “dress nautical” and compete for a prize
  • Spot prizes throughout the day both afloat & ashore, with prizes from Liz Earle Naturally, Chilgrove and Gill
  • Champagne afternoon tea with fabulous prizedraw on the Cowes Parade
  • Special offers for Ladies across shoreside venues during the day

Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week 2015 takes place from the 8th – 15th August.

For more information on Ladies Day or the regatta visit