Jon Ibbotson and Jo Hunt win National 12 Easter Egg event at Waldringfield

The N12 Easter Egg trophy at Waldringfield SC on 26-28 March began with East Anglian murk and light winds. Caroline Martin and Andrew Douglas got away at the start and were never seen again. Tom Stewart and Liz Ross held off Jon Ibbotson and Jo Hunt and got into second, with Jon Brown and Rachel Williamson overhauling Ibbotson and Hunt when they hit the mud.

Ibbotson and Hunt led both races on Sunday morning from start to finish, chased around by Stewart and Ross. In the afternoon with the start line in strong tide, starting was challenging. Stewart and Ross led narrowly at the windward mark. On the run, Martin and Douglas overtook Stewart and Ross. Stewart and Ross chose the wrong bank at the leeward mark, allowing Ibbotson and Hunt to take the race from Martin and Douglas.

On the Monday the wind filled in shortly before the start. Fran Gifford and Sophie Mackley in N3431 made the early running. The lead changed hands many times on the run as the fleet split banks. Stewart and Ross made it to the leeward mark first and went on to win from Antony and Jo Gifford then Gifford and Mackley.

Overall Results

1. Jon Ibbotson and Jo Hunt, N3445

2. Tom Stewart and Liz Ross, N3476

3. Caroline Martin and Andrew Douglas, N3455