Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley wiin Roswell Trophy 40th Anniversary & Secretary's Cup at Ely SC

Ely Sailing Club celebrated the 40th National 12 open meeting at Roswell Waters on Sunday. Frances Gifford crewed by Sophie Mackley took the lead in the first race and were never headed. Gerald Copsey and Gerry Ledger had a very close finish with only four seconds between them. It took Frances a lap to overtake Gerry Ledger and Elizabeth Ross in the second race and with two wins this was enough to retain the trophy.

Sophie helmed the last race but she and Gerry were OCS and had to restart. This manoeuvre favoured them as they approached the first mark from a different direction to the rest of the fleet. Gerry had to do penalty turns as he clipped Sophie’s rudder. Sophie took the lead and crossed the finish line first.

To celebrate the 40th anniversary, the N12 Association also awarded the Secretary’s Cup to Gifford. An anniversary cake was cut by Commodore Clare Christan and Jill Sallis, Ely N12 Fleet Captain. John Holttum, who organised the first event 39 years ago to celebrate 20 years of the existence of Ely Sailing Club and Ivatt Sallis, who had been runner up in the first Roswell Trophy, attended the prizegiving.

Overall Results

1st Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley, Aldeburgh YC

2nd Gerry Ledger and Elizabeth Ross, Up River YC

3rd Gerald and Nicholas Copsey, Ely SC

4th Sue Pelling and Sue May, Up River YC