Jon Ibbotson and Kirsty Phipps from Royal Harwich YC win the first National 12 Gill series event of the season

The first National 12 Gill series event of 2005 was sailed in glorious sunshine and a lovely breeze with 27 boats last weekend (2-3 April). Race one saw Gavin and Jasmine Willis take an early lead, only for Graham Camm and Zoe Ballantyne to take line honours from Jon Ibbotson and Kirsty Phipps. The second race was equally tight with Tom Stewart and Liz Ross, Camm and Ballantyne and Ibbotson and Phipps exchanging the lead throughout. Stewart and Ross eventually took first place.

The third race (sailed on Sunday morning) was very close between the same three leading boats. Ibbotson and Phipps finally took first from Stewart and Ross with Camm and Ballantyne third.

Ibbotson and Phipps dominated race four, with Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley just behind in second. Stewart and Ross dented their chances of victory with an OCS and Camm with Mike Cooke now crewing claimed third.

In the final race Stewart and Ross won from Geoff Camm and Amelia Hall, which was enough for Jon Ibbotson and Kirsty Phipps to win the Gill prizes of crew Sports Jackets.

The Admiral’s cup prize (non-double bottomed boats) was equally closely fought for with Kevin Iles and Tim Goodhew sneaking victory from Junior winners Andrew Miller and Chloe Willis.

Overall Results

1st 3445 Jon Ibbotson and Kirsty Phipps, Royal Harwich YC, 7 points

2nd 3476 Tom Stewart and Liz Ross, Royal Harwich YC, 9 points

3rd 3492 Graham Camm and Zoe Ballantyne, Burghfield SC, 9 points

4th 3431 Frances Gifford and Sophie Mackley, Aldeburgh YC, 13 points

Admiral’s Cup winners – 3373 Kevin Iles and Tim Goodhew

1st Juniors – 3389 Andrew Miller and Chloe Willis

1st Family – 3485 Gavin and Jasmine Willis